What's new
  • Please do not post any links until you have 3 posts as they will automatically be rejected to prevent SPAM. Many words are also blocked due to being used in SPAM Messages. Thanks!

Let's go Team !!

zlojack

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 12, 2007
Messages
2,038
Location
Toronto
Yeah, my i7 920 is at 3GHz now (just a mild OC on the stock cooler for now) and it's spitting out about 1800 per instance for ~7k ppd! A lot better than before where dual SMPs were getting me about half of that! If I can get this thing up to 4GHz (which it can do!) then I'm thinking this could be good for about 9k!
 

chrisk

Folding Captain
Joined
Jul 12, 2008
Messages
7,541
Location
GTA, Ontario
I think after a few days of messing with this, you should create a thread for just vmware PPD...no tutorials, just a thread called something like "Increase your Folding PPD with Vmware" and link to the articles, and a couple of pointers mentioned in this thread...the 'lets go team' thread is pretty long, and some folders who are not on here everyday, 2-3 times a day, might be missing out on some serious PPD.
 

Nademon

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
303
Location
Toronto
Ok...just tried FAHSpy and it seems to be working pretty good! I think I actually like it better than FAHMon...seems much more detailed. So the VM client is saying about 1488 PPD on the single folder setup I did. My processor (QX9650) is running at around 3.9Ghz, so how is 1488 PPD sounding?

So when the guide suggests setting up 4 folders, it would essentially run 1 smp client per folder per 2 cores...meaning 1 smp client per core? I think I'll be limited to 1 folder on this machine 'cause with 2 511's working on the 4870x2 and the 1 VMware, I only have 3-8% idle CPU resources according to FaHSpy.
 

sswilson

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 9, 2006
Messages
17,897
Location
Moncton NB
VMware is limited to 2 cores and SMP will utilize both those cores so you'll only need one instance of the SMP client / VMware.
 

zlojack

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 12, 2007
Messages
2,038
Location
Toronto
I think after a few days of messing with this, you should create a thread for just vmware PPD...no tutorials, just a thread called something like "Increase your Folding PPD with Vmware" and link to the articles, and a couple of pointers mentioned in this thread...the 'lets go team' thread is pretty long, and some folders who are not on here everyday, 2-3 times a day, might be missing out on some serious PPD.
Done :thumb:
http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum/hardwarecanucks-f-h-team/16728-boost-your-ppd-vmware-look-inside-easy-guides.html
 

Soultribunal

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 8, 2008
Messages
8,282
Location
Mississauga
Hey Everyone, Game on !

The 'One' Card is now in my possesion, and I am putting it into my Main instead of Test to fold.
Doing Driver updates and the like, but after that its back to the PPD!!!

I guess I can't give iTrader Feedback, but thanks Nademon!!!!!!!!!
Awsome dealing with you.
Charlie, I'll keep damn good care of your Former EVGA 9800GT.

ST
 

3.0charlie

3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
Joined
May 22, 2007
Messages
9,910
Location
Bedford QC
The One... ROFL I'm happy to know it stayed in the family.


Yeah...seriously. Though I understand why they focus on the GPU client since it does crunch the numbers very quickly.

Still, the A2 for Windows would be very nice :biggrin:

But now that we have a guide that has everything including PICTURES, there really is not very much of an excuse not to go the VMWare route (yes, I'm looking at you, 3.0charlie :haha:)
The second the 275s are installed, I'll try Vmware again on the Q6600. But negative on the i7, since the missus needs the rig from time-to-time.

Agreed LCB. It's my 6 month B-day today folding and progress to enhance all the clients has been promised since I joined. It's time Pande group got to work and stopped using the term "beta" like it's some catch all word to retort when people complain the software is weak.

Maybe someone could write a short history of HWC forums folding, it sure would be nice if some of the old guard could join us crossing the top 100 seeing they got the ball rolling way back. I wonder who's our longest running active folder and what kind of ppd people were getting when the team was new. Anyone know what date the HWC team started? I tried to see but the charts don't have a "First record" column for teams.
Back when I started, 4Door and sswilson were part of the team. There were roughly 10 members. Don't know exactly when it started - but pete_scout was our biggest folder, averaging 16k with a nice folding farm: Q6600s, Pentium 940s, a couple AMDs. Remember that back then, there was no GPU client, 4k on a Quad with dual Vmware clients was huge. And a pain too.
 

Silvgearx

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 12, 2008
Messages
2,063
Location
Toronto
hmm, is CPU folding worth it now? i keep seeing people mention there not worth it. whats the damage a 4ghz dual core could do? :ph34r:

4k on a quad, so 2k range for a dual?? :blarg:

GOnna need some assistance from alwaysrun to OC my CPU, since we both run the same cpu and mobo :haha::thumb:.
 

Nademon

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
303
Location
Toronto
I'm running 2 instances in VMware on my quad, so essentially what you would run on a dual core and at present they are netting me 1643 PPD on one and 3351 PPD on the other (different WU's). So that's amost 5K it seems on my QX9650 running at about 3.9Ghz. I say that's pretty darn good!
 

zlojack

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 12, 2007
Messages
2,038
Location
Toronto
hmm, is CPU folding worth it now? i keep seeing people mention there not worth it. whats the damage a 4ghz dual core could do? :ph34r:

4k on a quad, so 2k range for a dual?? :blarg:

GOnna need some assistance from alwaysrun to OC my CPU, since we both run the same cpu and mobo :haha::thumb:.
I'm betting you could get more than that. My E4500 gets about 1.2k PPD with the regular SMP at 3Ghz

So you have to think the E8400 at 4GHz should do a bit better, especially with VMWare!

Guys, really watch your process priority with this stuff! Even with the GPU clients configured to "slightly higher" when it switched over to the FahCore_14, it set the priority back to "Low" and my PPD dove down to 2k per GPU.

I had to go in and manually set it to "Below Normal" and now it's back up at about 6.5k per GPU again.

I wish there was a way to permanently set Priority for these processes. If anyone knows, please post it up and we can add the instructions to the thread I posted about VMWare folding.
 
Top