What's new
  • Please do not post any links until you have 3 posts as they will automatically be rejected to prevent SPAM. Many words are also blocked due to being used in SPAM Messages. Thanks!

Local account on windows 10?

clshades

Well-known member
Joined
May 18, 2011
Messages
3,848
Location
Big White Ski Resort
Made a family account for my son through the windows management system online. Complete joke, nightmare to navigate. All I want d to do was change his password.

It would just be easier to do it locally.

Is it still possible to make a local account on windows 10 without an email sign in?
 

anabioz

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 3, 2008
Messages
566
Location
Montreal
During the initial setup, unplug the network cable.

To add a local user:
start -> cmd (right click run as admin)

# add local user clshades with password [email protected]:
net user clshades [email protected] /add

# add to local admin group:
net localgroup administrators clshades /add

# logoff
logoff

--
 
Last edited:

JD

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 16, 2007
Messages
10,429
Location
Toronto, ON
If you want to do it in the GUI, you can also pull up "Computer Management" then System Tools > Local Users and Groups > Users, then right click, New User.

Up to you if you want to add it to the Administrators group as well afterwards, generally I would say no if it's for a family member and you already have an "admin" account.
 

anabioz

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 3, 2008
Messages
566
Location
Montreal
If you want to do it in the GUI, you can also pull up "Computer Management" then System Tools > Local Users and Groups > Users, then right click, New User.

Up to you if you want to add it to the Administrators group as well afterwards, generally I would say no if it's for a family member and you already have an "admin" account.

Is it also available on the non-pro version? If I recall there were some restrictions imposed (but why?)) .
 

JD

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 16, 2007
Messages
10,429
Location
Toronto, ON
Is it also available on the non-pro version? If I recall there were some restrictions imposed (but why?)) .
I generally only use Pro & Enterprise, so I guess my information is one-sided...

I built a new Win10 Home VM though, the [email protected] with "email" for password still works to get to the local account creation during OOBE, if somebody owns that account it claimed it was locked out :ROFLMAO:

I do see they removed the "Local Users and Groups" from Computer Management. Even opening MMC and adding the snapin gives an error saying it's not supported:

1611018453168.png

But going through the Windows settings still seems to have the option. You need to click "I don't have this person's sign-in information" and then "Add a user without a Microsoft account" which creates a local account.

1611018564811.png

1611018622384.png

That's a pretty odd thing to restrict/remove though. Doesn't make much sense at all nor do I really see how this improves security or anything. Considering it still lets you do "net user administrator 123" and "net user administrator /active:yes", then you can login as RID-500... if anything they should have blocked/removed the net command :rolleyes:

Anyways, interesting none the less. Guess I'll keep this Win10 Home VM around for future comparisons!
 

anabioz

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 3, 2008
Messages
566
Location
Montreal
I generally only use Pro & Enterprise, so I guess my information is one-sided...

I built a new Win10 Home VM though, the [email protected] with "email" for password still works to get to the local account creation during OOBE, if somebody owns that account it claimed it was locked out :ROFLMAO:

I do see they removed the "Local Users and Groups" from Computer Management. Even opening MMC and adding the snapin gives an error saying it's not supported:

View attachment 30484

But going through the Windows settings still seems to have the option. You need to click "I don't have this person's sign-in information" and then "Add a user without a Microsoft account" which creates a local account.

View attachment 30485

View attachment 30486

That's a pretty odd thing to restrict/remove though. Doesn't make much sense at all nor do I really see how this improves security or anything. Considering it still lets you do "net user administrator 123" and "net user administrator /active:yes", then you can login as RID-500... if anything they should have blocked/removed the net command :rolleyes:

Anyways, interesting none the less. Guess I'll keep this Win10 Home VM around for future comparisons!

Want to learn something even more interesting?

SHIFT+F10 brings up hidden command prompt which you can also use to navigate during the initial setup ;)
 

gingerbee

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 22, 2009
Messages
7,857
Location
Orillia, Ontario
On my initial setup I had the internet plugged in and all I had to do was create an offline account when it asked for the e-mail address this was with 20H2 just the other day
 

Latest posts

Twitter

Top