What's new
  • Please do not post any links until you have 3 posts as they will automatically be rejected to prevent SPAM. Many words are also blocked due to being used in SPAM Messages. Thanks!

MOBO or PSU

clg

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 9, 2012
Messages
77
Back in March I had an issue with my Corsair PSU failing to boot unless capacitors drained. Now I'm experiencing sudden shut downs followed up the PC trying to boot itself back up again at which time it turns off in an endless off/on cycle every 3-5 seconds. I plugged my trusty (albeit loud) XFX psu into the 24 and 8-pins and it fired up the system no issues, while the corsair still went through the on/off cycle. I'm horrified to think an RMA replacement unit is also failing. It passes the built in system test, but what else would cause the off/on cycle? Went over the wiring and all solid connections.
 

ZZLEE

Well-known member
Joined
May 31, 2009
Messages
2,451
Location
KANATA
Give us a full System spec out.

If you are overclocked it can be sighn off a failed overclock.

Try default settings and see if the boot cycles still happen.
 

clg

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 9, 2012
Messages
77
i5 3570k O/C'd using AI Suite. BIOS flash removed the O/C and it still occurred
Corsair h100 cooler, CPU confirmed running frosty
Asus P8z77-v LK MOBO
Corsair Vengeance blue ram
660ti's SLI
Corsair AX760I psu
 

ZZLEE

Well-known member
Joined
May 31, 2009
Messages
2,451
Location
KANATA
Swich slots with your ram.

Take out and put back in your vidio cards trade slots.

Lookinng fore loose conetion.

If thats no go

try stata conectors swithch them around.

How old is the board. ?? MB battery ?
 

clg

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 9, 2012
Messages
77
Neg, swapped the XFX in there and it's still doing it -_-

Black Friday coming up I think is going to be the most likely solution.
 

ZZLEE

Well-known member
Joined
May 31, 2009
Messages
2,451
Location
KANATA
Pull it out off the case try the MB on a piece of cardboard.
On board vidio.
One stick of RAM.

Still Erores lour likely SOL

edit : Look fore bulging capasitors

How long is the warinty on the board ?
 

Bond007

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 24, 2009
Messages
5,082
Location
Nova Scotia
go to the basics. I would go for one ram stick, one GPU, and have bios "reset to default". Disconnect HDD and see if it will run to bios and stay there. But you could definitely take it the step further by going to integrated graphics and pull the board from the case.
 

Latest posts

Twitter

Top