What's new
  • Please do not post any links until you have 3 posts as they will automatically be rejected to prevent SPAM. Many words are also blocked due to being used in SPAM Messages. Thanks!

My new home automation micro server

lowfat

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 12, 2007
Messages
9,155
Location
Grande Prairie, AB
Finally got around to installing Node-RED on my HASS and spent a while spinning my wheels. Turns out often you need to ssh in to issue a "hassio homeassistant restart" for it to actually properly restart.

Do you have any real Hue stuff? I found this custom component that allows you to create automations using the Hue remote to trigger events - they report as a sensor and you trigger based on the state change of things like "1_click_up" for "On".


I managed to tie in SmartThings and Hue into my HASS and finally have "full" usage of the motion sensors and remotes on each system.
I don't use HASS.io so I'm not sure how it differs. But any config change you need to restart HA, and any time there is a config change in HA you'll need to restart NR to see the changes.

I've created a samba share of my HA folder. So I can edit all the configs w/ Notepad++. Then I've setup HA so I can reset my services through the UI easily.
An easy way to do this, is to create command line switches in HA. You can even control other machines over ssh if you setup ssh keys between the two machines. The command line switches are ugly in the UI tho, so I setup input booleans to use instead. The input booleans are just so I can toggle the automation in nodered, but through the HA UI.

2.PNG
1.PNG
3.PNG



4.PNG

Never used Hass.io so I'm not sure how easy it is to just restart the docker containers. So maybe all this isn't helpful. :eek:


And I use a few Hue's where I couldn't install my own switches, strips. Don't use a remote tho. I control everything w/ either complete automation or voice. So the default integration works fine.
 

zoob

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 21, 2007
Messages
1,654
Location
Toronto, ON
Ah I think there is a misunderstanding - I had to ssh in and run that command on the console in order to restart it for config to pick up. Web interface isn't telling it to restart properly for some reason. I'm not using the hass.io cloud service.

BTW also found this: https://www.zigbee2mqtt.io/getting_started/what_do_i_need.html
Planning on using it to remove SmartThings Hub from my system to reduce latency/keep things local.
 

lowfat

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 12, 2007
Messages
9,155
Location
Grande Prairie, AB
Ah I think there is a misunderstanding - I had to ssh in and run that command on the console in order to restart it for config to pick up. Web interface isn't telling it to restart properly for some reason. I'm not using the hass.io cloud service.

BTW also found this: https://www.zigbee2mqtt.io/getting_started/what_do_i_need.html
Planning on using it to remove SmartThings Hub from my system to reduce latency/keep things local.
Hass / Hass.io is the name of the all-in-one image created for Home Assistant. It has build in Docker that it uses for everything. Which is what I believe you are running.

You can also just install Home Assistant bare-metal. Which is what I am doing since you can only install Hass.io on an SD card when using a Pi. I've never actually used Hass.io so somethings are different. Like I have no addons, and I'm not sure how/if you can restart services via the UI.

What I was suggesting was to create a 'command line switch' that would run the 'hassio homeassistant restart ' command. So you'd just hit the switch in the HA UI, and you wouldn't need to ssh in to the machine and do it manually.

I've redone most my Alexa automations in Node-Red yesterday. They are once again more complex yet simplified. The automations themselves do more, but the flows are cleaner.


 

zoob

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 21, 2007
Messages
1,654
Location
Toronto, ON
Ahh I see, yes I'm using the premade hass image and using it on an Rpi3.

My node-red flow is pretty tame in comparison to yours :)

The basement lights are on two systems:
Smartthings for the basement stair motion sensor (zigbee) which triggers a zwave light switch.
Then it turns on the Home assistant zwave light switch for the basement light switch at the base of the stairs.
The zigbee2mqtt will enable me to have it all in HASS which will remove any delays from it going out to the internet.

1565660129169.png

I also think the sliding door function isn't quite working right so will need some further testing. FYI Ring contact sensors will join they just show up all weird. They're really cheap for being Zwave Plus though. $50 for a pair, vs $35 or $45 for a single from Dome or Monoprice. I'm sure it's just a matter of time before they get properly added to openzwave.
1565660323146.png
 

zoob

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 21, 2007
Messages
1,654
Location
Toronto, ON
Going to try ESXi + Ubuntu + manual hassio install since there are no premade .ova images for it.
This will make me ready for the zigbee2mqtt portion and also speed up restarts. I have a simple config and it still takes a while on the Pi3.
 

lowfat

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 12, 2007
Messages
9,155
Location
Grande Prairie, AB
Going to try ESXi + Ubuntu + manual hassio install since there are no premade .ova images for it.
This will make me ready for the zigbee2mqtt portion and also speed up restarts. I have a simple config and it still takes a while on the Pi3.
Takes a while to do what? Restart the home assistant service or reboot the whole machine?

That is the problem w/ Hass.io, you have to install it on an microsd card. W/ the bare metal Home Assistant install, you obviously don't. But the addons sound nice and easy. I am hugely bottlenecked by USB2 for my SSD. But I notice zero difference between the LXC container I ran it in previously on my Proxmox machine. Really surprised that it runs so well on a RPi2B. CPU usage is generally like 5%, ram barely goes over 30%.
 

Twitter

Top