What's new
  • Please do not post any links until you have 3 posts as they will automatically be rejected to prevent SPAM. Many words are also blocked due to being used in SPAM Messages. Thanks!

Want to Buy NB and SB waterblocks

3.0charlie

3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
Joined
May 22, 2007
Messages
9,905
Location
Bedford QC
But use Post Reply, not Quick Reply. Then copy / paste the code in the IMG block in your reply.
 

MpG

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 2, 2007
Messages
3,132
Location
Kitchener, ON
Watercooling that board will a right pain in the ass. The pin pattern for the VRM portion (near the socket), coupled with the components, I don't think even a universal block would be able to fit there. Looks is a whole different issue, but from a performance point of view, I don't see watercooling the chipset providing any improvements for your setup.
 

WolfBane

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 28, 2008
Messages
1,241
Location
new bruinswick
Well now that you guys have educated me lol i understand that it would be a major pain as well as a waste of money !!!
So looks like i will be researching a new board but i want to stay with my current xeon chip ! what would you guys reccomand in the future?
 

3.0charlie

3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
Joined
May 22, 2007
Messages
9,905
Location
Bedford QC
@ Dave: yup, you got it.

As for wc'ing the chipset and board components... if you wish to push the chipset past 500Mhz, a block for the NB may be useful. But until then, just slap an Antec Spot Cool close to the NB block.

Board recommendations, based on what I know: Gigabyte P45-DS3L, hands down. Second would be the Asus P5E Deluxe, with a BIOS flashed to Rampage.
 

WolfBane

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 28, 2008
Messages
1,241
Location
new bruinswick
Hey John i have 2 spot cools blowing that way right now !!!
and i must say its nice and chilly in there :)
Right now i think i am pretty cool and will be even better once i get the new vid card in !
that being said i have a ozc ram cooler on my 4 gig of gskill!
how would i go about ocing my ram ?
the easiest way ? now remeber i know nothing about ocing ram!!!!!!
 

3.0charlie

3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
Joined
May 22, 2007
Messages
9,905
Location
Bedford QC
2 spot cools will allow plenty of airflow, even at low speed.

Now, for the ram oc'ing. If you look at the screenshot you posted, and CPU-Z memory tab view, you will see that your ram is running at 444MHz (same as your CPU frequency). Your ram is stock 400MHz. So it is overclocked, with a 1:1 ratio to the CPU frequency. Can it go higher? Probably, with more volts (2.1V Vram max), and if you change the Ram multiplier (or divider, some boards have the opposite). You will either see ram ratios (2.0, 2.4, 2.6, 3.0, 4.0) - those are multipliers of the CPU frequency, at which the ram will run. If you see 1:1, 5:6, 11:12, 3:4, etc. those are dividers, and produce the same result.

Understand well every option of your BIOS before attempting oc'ing the ram further. And if you do, use Memtest86+ to verify that there are no errors with your new ram speed - resulting in a stable setup.
 

WolfBane

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 28, 2008
Messages
1,241
Location
new bruinswick
Ok on memtest , I just download that program and run it from the setup?
Or do i have to burn memtest to a dvd disk then boot from that disk?
 

WolfBane

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 28, 2008
Messages
1,241
Location
new bruinswick
Ok got it i will do that and let ya know the results tomm :)
Thanks for all the help guys !!!! i really appreciate it alot!!!:)
 
Top