What's new
  • Please do not post any links until you have 3 posts as they will automatically be rejected to prevent SPAM. Many words are also blocked due to being used in SPAM Messages. Thanks!

Need direction, help, insite.........

Sitkaspruce

New member
Joined
Apr 24, 2007
Messages
2
Hi

Newbie here, first time poster and builder.
And I feel like I just called one of those talk shows on the radio.

Anyways

I am very new at this and am trying my first computer building project. I have spent a fair bit of time trying to sort out through all the different components and keep it in a good budget range (under $1500). I have bought a couple of big box computers and one was good and a couple were garbage, so I decided to try my hand at the build your own game.

Be critical if you want and any suggestions would be most welcome.

Case NZXT Lexa ATX
PS Silverstone Element ST50EF-Plus
Mobo ASUS M2R32-MVP Xpress3200 Crossfire
Mem Mushkin PC2-5300 2GB 1GBx2 DDR2-667
CPU AMD 4600 + DC 2x512KB 89W 90NM Retail
HD Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 320GB
Video Powercolor Radeon X1950 Pro Extreme
DVD Liteon LH-20A1S DVD
Moni. Samsung SyncMaster 205BW 20" WS LCD
KB/M Logitech Cordless EX 110

Does the AMD match up with the Mobo? The AMD does not have this board listed.
Also am only going to run one Vid card for now, but might get another one later, id this Mobo for the new Crossfire with the bridging cables that come with the card?

Not sure if this the right form to post, sorry if it should be somewhere else.

Thanks again

Cheers

SS
 

sswilson

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 9, 2006
Messages
17,897
Location
Moncton NB
Good evening and welcome to Hardwarecanucks.

First thing that came up was a quick search on the mobo.... looks like there are two versions using the same name????

Just make sure that you are purchasing the AM2 version and not the S939.
 

sswilson

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 9, 2006
Messages
17,897
Location
Moncton NB
The PSU should also be able to do the trick for a single 1950pro (30A single rail suggested, but it looks like the silverstone has no problem acting like a 36A), but would be below manufacturers spec for crossfire if you decide to go that route.
 

Supergrover

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 2, 2006
Messages
4,355
Location
Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Do you game FPS in particular? Wireless keyboard/mouse setups suck bad for gaming.
The only reason I got rid of my Logitech wireless 3100 combo, if I cant aim and move @ the exact same time whats the point?
 

Sitkaspruce

New member
Joined
Apr 24, 2007
Messages
2
I just want to say thanks guys.

I ended up changing the RAM and I had the proper Mobo and CPU set up. I will probably get back on here if I have any questions.

Cheers
SS
 

Twitter

Top