What's new
  • Please do not post any links until you have 3 posts as they will automatically be rejected to prevent SPAM. Many words are also blocked due to being used in SPAM Messages. Thanks!

Need help with Upgrading my system

Sknight

Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2021
Messages
8
Hi All,

I'm looking to update my system and I was looking for some help.

1. Primarily a gaming system and looking to RGB it later.

2. What YOUR budget is. Will be based on items needed. in the past I have got mid line items

3. What country : Canada and buying in Canada

4. IF YOU have a brand preference. AMD-Fanboy, ATI-Fanboy, nVidia-Fanboy, I like my Gigabyte MB but not married to it.

5. If YOU intend on using any of YOUR current parts: I want to reuse my 2060 super and the 3 SSd i have

7. IF YOU plan on overclocking or run the system at default speeds: maybe p[lay around with it but not likely

8. WHEN do you plan to build it: Lols as son as part become available

So now that is ou tof the way here is what I'm working with

MB: AX370-Gaming K3 (no M.2 Slot)
CPU: AMD Ryzen 5 2600
Mem: 32gb 3200 (2x16)
Vcard: Palit RTX 2060 SUPER Dual
2 x 1Tb Samsung 860 Evo
1x 500mb Samsung 860 Evo
No Sound card
All house in a CM Cosmos 1000
Stealseries I/O
Dual Moniter 1. LG (running 4k) 2, Dell (2560x1440)


My first pass at this is to get a Ryzen 5 5600X and looking at the support doc for the MoBo it says it can support that chip. My concern is the MoBo will choke the system. with the low availability of the chip, I may go the other way and change the MoBo. I was looking at the ROG Strix X570-E Gaming or GIGABYTE X570 AORUS PRO. I plan down the line for Corsair fans and RGB light and possible a 5000 series case. If anyone can give me some feed back on which way to go that would be great.


Thanks
SK
 
Last edited:

moocow

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 8, 2011
Messages
2,126
Location
Vancouver, BC
I don't think changing the board will boost performance by much. If you're using old spinning HDD, upgrade to SATA SSD for now or upgrade to a new board and use M2 NVME SSD. Games don't really take advantage of NVME SSD yet. Another option is drop in a R5-3600 if you are really hungry for a CPU boost. It's a silly idea tho but no one can get 5K chips for reasonable price if you can find them.
 

djbrad

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 14, 2012
Messages
255
Are you sure your motherboard is the AX370-Gaming K3 ?

The one I found got an M.2 slot, but no bios support for ryzen 5000 series.
 

Sknight

Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2021
Messages
8
djbrad,

I just double checked and i have the Mobo right and as pre the gigabyte support the latest bios will go all the way to Ryzen 9 3950x. Maybe i reading this wrong, feel free to correct me. I know that web page says i have an m.2 slot but if you see my pics its not there, I'm guessing i have a early version of the Mobo
 

Attachments

  • 20210206_105356.jpg
    20210206_105356.jpg
    388.3 KB · Views: 7
  • 20210206_105401.jpg
    20210206_105401.jpg
    377.4 KB · Views: 7

Sknight

Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2021
Messages
8
Why? Does a particular game not run well enough? Are you gaming at 4k, or 1440? Or is this just a case of upgraditis?
I bit of both, I really want 4k gaming but the system is not up to it, frame rate drops to about 30fps in codmw and mid 30 to 40 in AC Valhalla
 

Bond007

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 24, 2009
Messages
6,118
Location
Nova Scotia
djbrad,

I just double checked and i have the Mobo right and as pre the gigabyte support the latest bios will go all the way to Ryzen 9 3950x. Maybe i reading this wrong, feel free to correct me. I know that web page says i have an m.2 slot but if you see my pics its not there, I'm guessing i have a early version of the Mobo

There is only one version of the board and that link is correct. The M.2 slot us under your graphics card. Remove the GPU to get access to it.
 

Coach

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 10, 2007
Messages
1,285
Location
Morden MB
I own computers with the 3600 and I did own a 5600x. When I tested the games I play at 2560x1440 with a GTX 1080 there was no difference in performance. Based on the results I sold the 5600x. IMO you could get the 3600 and a better GPU. That is about all I would change in your system.
 

djbrad

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 14, 2012
Messages
255
There is only one version of the board and that link is correct. The M.2 slot us under your graphics card. Remove the GPU to get access to it.

I was about to point that ;)

I own computers with the 3600 and I did own a 5600x. When I tested the games I play at 2560x1440 with a GTX 1080 there was no difference in performance. Based on the results I sold the 5600x. IMO you could get the 3600 and a better GPU. That is about all I would change in your system.

Coach advice seems good. As the 5600x is hard to find, a ryzen 3600 / 3700 / 3800 could be a compromise with a better gpu.
 

Coach

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 10, 2007
Messages
1,285
Location
Morden MB
As the 5600x is hard to find, a ryzen 3600 / 3700 / 3800 could be a compromise with a better gpu.
... and his current mobo with latest bios will support it. If OP wants a 5600x he would need a new board. IIRC x570 will not support Ryzen 6000 or whatever is next. That makes buying a new board MUCH less appealing right now.
 
Top