What's new
  • Please do not post any links until you have 3 posts as they will automatically be rejected to prevent SPAM. Many words are also blocked due to being used in SPAM Messages. Thanks!

new build won't boot up! help.

dbear

Just put together a new rig that came in the mail today and sadly disappointed that I can't get it to work. Everything seems to power on properly except nothing boots up on screen. Motherboard lights are on, case fans on, CD-rom can open as well. I don't hear any beeps either. Seems like the cpu is not working or maybe I mixed up some cables and stuff, but i'll triple check. This is my first time putting together a rig so I already predicted there will be problems :) should of gone with a service fee.

Anyone have any ideas. I might take this to a shop and see what they can do. I also hope nothing was busted in the mail (which I don't think).

Cooler Master Haf 932
Intel i7 930
Cooler Master Hyper 212 plus heatsink
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R motherboard
6 gigs of corsair dominator ram
ati XFX 5850 radeon Vid Card
antec power supply 650 watts neopower

Stock

hmm did you connect your monitor properly? check to see if that's the problem since everything else seems to be in order :)

chrisk

Folding Captain
hmm did you connect your monitor properly? check to see if that's the problem since everything else seems to be in order :)
1. Double-check all cables, including the power (should be two cables connected to your mobo). Also check the video cables, and that any required power for your video card is also connected.

2. Unplug everything except 1 stick of ram, mobo, psu, cpu, and video card and try to boot. If it does, add more ram, etc until it does not boot to narrow it down. If it does not boot, then try anlother stick of ram.

3. Take the mobo out of the case, and place it on a box. Plug in 1 stick of ram, mobo, psu, cpu, and video card and try to boot. Repeat step 2.