What's new
  • Please do not post any links until you have 3 posts as they will automatically be rejected to prevent SPAM. Many words are also blocked due to being used in SPAM Messages. Thanks!

New build -Yes it's fun...

Il Duce

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 10, 2007
Messages
510
Location
T.O
Purpose:Play current games (at least 60fps avg), alt-tab easily out of current titles/software/bt to msn, and of course running future OSes smoothly.

---
AMD X2 Build
---
AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000 279.99
Asus M2A-MVP Socket AM2 AMD 480X CrossFire Chipset + ATI SB600 Dual Channel DDR2 800/667/533 1394a Firewire 104.99
Corsair XMS2 TWIN2X2048-6400 2GB Kit (2x1GB) PC6400 139.99
Sapphire ATI Radeon X1950 XT 219.99
Antec SmartPower 2.0 500 Watt 81.95

826.91 subt
950.9465 wtx
---
(Prices quotes from Canadacomputers on July 2,07')

Infonec does sell some parts cheaper like the AMD6000 sells for 264 (259 w/ cash/debit) and other parts maybe 6-9 dollars cheaper than Canadacomp. But I'm lazy to drive all the way there...

I know 8600 blah blah blah. I'm just ATI in heart.
 
J

JayDee

Guest
Congratulations Il Duce :)

A new build is always fun! (what's wrong with us geeks :p)

Did you get a cooler for the 6000 to OC or are you going to play stock?

Good gaming to ya!
 

Il Duce

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 10, 2007
Messages
510
Location
T.O
I'm just using my old case if things don't fit i'm using my powertools to adjust that. Also don't need cooling since I don't oc.
 

belgolas

Well-known member
Joined
May 9, 2007
Messages
4,205
Location
St. Thomas, Ontario
up coming DX10 games will play in DX9 and won't look that different and will run a lot faster than in DX10 mode. read tomshardware on DX10 versus DX9. Even Crysis isn't that big of a difference from DX9 to DX10. So I guess he can wait till the next gen DX10 cards come out. The current ones I am a little disappointed in them.
 

DurkaDurka

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 4, 2007
Messages
170
Location
Toronto area.
up coming DX10 games will play in DX9 and won't look that different and will run a lot faster than in DX10 mode. read tomshardware on DX10 versus DX9. Even Crysis isn't that big of a difference from DX9 to DX10. So I guess he can wait till the next gen DX10 cards come out. The current ones I am a little disappointed in them.
I agree, the batch of dx10 titles out right now do not look a whole lot different then their dx9 brethren, but that would mostly be due to them not being native dx10 games... a patch isn't going to add a whole lot.

Why buy old technology though? An 8800GTS 320 can be had for about $300, and it will run DX9 titles a lot faster then a x1900 series card.
 

cujo

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
88
Location
Mississauga, ON
Infonec does sell some parts cheaper like the AMD6000 sells for 264 (259 w/ cash/debit) and other parts maybe 6-9 dollars cheaper than Canadacomp. But I'm lazy to drive all the way there...
lol, that's nearly $50 for being lazy...


what monitor are you using? that goes a long way to determining what video card would best suit your needs.

also, why amd? overclocking an intel is so easy right now with all these p35 boards natively supporting 333fsb. an e6600 can be bumped to 333fsb from 266 with no vcore increase and no strain on any other component. at 3ghz it wouldn't even compare to your measly 6000+. not to mention current intel boards will fully support future intel cpus and current am2 boards will not fully support future amd cpus.
 
M

Misoprostol

Guest
actually AM2 boards are supposed to support the quad core AMD processors (AM2+) with just a BIOS update.
 

sswilson

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 9, 2006
Messages
17,899
Location
Moncton NB
actually AM2 boards are supposed to support the quad core AMD processors (AM2+) with just a BIOS update.
Yes, but older boards will not support the newer features (like the ability to control the northbridge freq separately from cpu).
 

Latest posts

Twitter

Top