What's new
  • Please do not post any links until you have 3 posts as they will automatically be rejected to prevent SPAM. Many words are also blocked due to being used in SPAM Messages. Thanks!

New gpu old psu.

Goredevil

Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2012
Messages
8
Hey Guys, i just bought and installed a 550ti and got the supplementary power for the 6pin from the molex adapter, everything was going good until i fired up BF:BC2 since my old gpu couldnt play it and about an hour in my psu which is a mios 500W model 400U starts stinking like its burning. Do i need to just buy a new psu? is it supposed to feel hot on the side? any help would be appreciated as i wanna be ready for D3 hence the new GPU. thanks in advance.
 

Dwayne

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 17, 2008
Messages
1,020
Location
Courtenay, BC
According to NVidia the 550Ti only needs a 400W PSU, but it could be that using the molex to 6 pin is stressing the PSU. I would suggest a good quality replacement, just for peace of mind.

Seasonic S12II 520W EPS12V 20/24PIN ATX Power Supply Active PFC 80+ Bronze 6+8PIN PCI-E W/ 120MM Fan - Seasonic Electronics - S12II 520

Seasonic has a good rep, and the PSU has a 6 pin and a 6+2 pin, in case you decide to upgrade later. Not a bad price, I bet you can find lower, but quality is important too.
 
Last edited:

Ed103194

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 12, 2011
Messages
150
Location
Calgary, AB
might as well go for a higher wattage psu while you're at it so you are set for future upgrades, the corsair psus are fairly good, just dont get the crappy ones off ebay/stock psus from futureshop computers
 

Goredevil

Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2012
Messages
8
Yeah, I guess i should suck it up and grab a new psu, that seasonic looks nice, good price too. I don't want to get too carried away with this rig as i plan on building a new one eventually. Anyways i'm looking at all those wires and the thought of installing one myselfe seems a little daunting, is it difficult to do? I would like to do it myselfe but i don't wanna blow up my little modest rig because i hooked the wrong wire up to something. Thanks again for the info.
 

Galcobar

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 18, 2009
Messages
430
Location
Richmond, B.C.
It's actually fairly hard to mess up a PSU installation in terms of what wires go where, since the connector types are quite distinct. With this PSU not being modular, you don't have to worry about plugging in the wrong thing, really. You'd pretty much have to break a connector to get it into an incompatible slot, and other than maybe the eight-pin EPS connector for the motherboard and the eight-pin PCI-e connector for the graphics card the power cable types are completely different.

Computer power connectors clip in firmly, but don't require a lot of force to insert. Don't force a connection, and you'll be okay.

For more information, you might find this primer on power connector types helpful. All about the various PC power supply cables and connectors
 
Last edited:

Dzzope

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 15, 2010
Messages
3,299
Location
Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Three options here..

If your planning on still using your current build in some way when you upgrade then get a cheaper psu (still quality but not enough watts for a modern rig)

If your scraping or disassembling it then get a 650 watt PSU now and it will do the new rig when you get it and save you buying a second PSU

option 3 is buy a quality 650-750 watt psu now and when your getting rid of your old rig, get a cheap psu to put in it and move the better one to the new build..
 

Goredevil

Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2012
Messages
8
Thanks for all the help guys, these forums are awesome. Dzzope, probably gonna go option A, I'll still probably use this as a media server to stream through the PS3 when I retire her. I'll do up the psu myselfe when I grab it in the next week or so since it sounds fairly straight forward. Thanks again for all the help.
 

Aerlas

New member
Joined
May 6, 2012
Messages
3
Location
Norway
If it is old like you said, the cause me be that is full of dust, and when the PSU i stressed some dusty component gets extra hot.
Try burning some dust and see if it smells the same ;P
Either way, get a new psu, go for something like a 650w :)
 

enaberif

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 9, 2006
Messages
11,391
Location
Calgahree, AB
Hey Guys, i just bought and installed a 550ti and got the supplementary power for the 6pin from the molex adapter, everything was going good until i fired up BF:BC2 since my old gpu couldnt play it and about an hour in my psu which is a mios 500W model 400U starts stinking like its burning. Do i need to just buy a new psu? is it supposed to feel hot on the side? any help would be appreciated as i wanna be ready for D3 hence the new GPU. thanks in advance.
The brand matters more than the wattage.
 

Latest posts

Twitter

Top