What's new
  • Please do not post any links until you have 3 posts as they will automatically be rejected to prevent SPAM. Many words are also blocked due to being used in SPAM Messages. Thanks!

New Kicking Build is on nigh!

GeezerGamer

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 29, 2019
Messages
141
Location
GTA
20200901_221008.jpg

So there, it's a start!

Question, if a new 3080 partner card requires three 8-pin cables this power supply will do it correct? I'd rather not explain my confusion but I would just like confirmation that this power supply is equipped for three 8 Pin or 3 6+2 hookup?

Below is a list of AX1000 cables....

Screenshot_20200902-153650_Samsung Internet.jpg

Make fun of me when I'm not around please :)
 

moocow

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 8, 2011
Messages
1,976
Location
Vancouver, BC

Confirmed with quick start guide found on Corsair's website, it has 4 PCI-E 8 pin cable in the format of 6pin+2pin with 2 connector on each cable so 8 in total. Basically should look like this:

PCIE-862FF-XX-PCI-Express-8p-Female-to-6p-Female-2p-Female-Power-Adapter-Cable-004.jpg

A lot of less powerful card either need 1x8pin or 1x8pin + 1x6pin. My GTX 750TI only need 1x6pin. So the connector is designed to give you that flexibility.
 

Bond007

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 24, 2009
Messages
5,942
Location
Nova Scotia
View attachment 29529

So there, it's a start!

Question, if a new 3080 partner card requires three 8-pin cables this power supply will do it correct? I'd rather not explain my confusion but I would just like confirmation that this power supply is equipped for three 8 Pin or 3 6+2 hookup?

Below is a list of AX1000 cables....

View attachment 29530

Make fun of me when I'm not around please :)

yes. It has 8 spread across 4 cables.
 

GeezerGamer

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 29, 2019
Messages
141
Location
GTA
Thanks moocow and Bond007. Most helpful but I need just a bit more.
With a 3080 needing three 8 pin connectors would I run 1 cable with two ends both plugged in plus and additional cable with one end plugged in leaving one end dangling?

please and thanks
 

Sagath

Moderator
Staff member
Folding Team
Joined
Feb 7, 2009
Messages
4,910
Location
Edmonton, AB
Thanks moocow and Bond007. Most helpful but I need just a bit more.
With a 3080 needing three 8 pin connectors would I run 1 cable with two ends both plugged in plus and additional cable with one end plugged in leaving one end dangling?

please and thanks

3080 is 2x8pin (or 1x12pin on the Founders Edition, which is 2x8pin adapter) according to marketing I've seen.

But yes, if it was 3x8pin you'd just leave one connector dangling.
 

GeezerGamer

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 29, 2019
Messages
141
Location
GTA
Sagath, cool one less worry!

I believe an ASUS ROG Strix is going with three 8 pin!
 

GeezerGamer

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 29, 2019
Messages
141
Location
GTA
Hi again, I wonder if it's motherboard time?
If I was to purchase a CPU/motherboard today it would be an AMD 3950x and Aorus X570 Master(on sale at the moment).
BUT I don't want the 3950x, I want it's successor(4950)!? Hopefully due for release before long?
The new 4000 series CPU's will keep the same socket so I wonder if it's sensible to get the X570 Master now?
Will new motherboards be released with the new CPU's? Should I wait?

Thoughts?

 

moocow

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 8, 2011
Messages
1,976
Location
Vancouver, BC
X570 and B550 are compatible with Zen 3 / 4000 series chips or at least that's what AMD's own charts are saying. You should go watch Hardware Unbox and Gamers Nexus for some reviews. HU have both B550 and X570 round ups and found some of the budget boards actually couldn't over clock the 3950X and would thermal throttle.

 

GeezerGamer

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 29, 2019
Messages
141
Location
GTA
Moocow, to be clear you're not saying the X570 Aorus Master is a budget board are you?
Will new motherboards be released with the new CPU's, should I wait?
I can't see anything about new motherboard releases!
 

clshades

Well-known member
Joined
May 18, 2011
Messages
3,496
Location
Big White Ski Resort
Moocow, to be clear you're not saying the X570 Aorus Master is a budget board are you?
Will new motherboards be released with the new CPU's, should I wait?
I can't see anything about new motherboard releases!
the master is not a budget board lol. I have the pro-wifi. It's been very solid.
 
Top