What's new
  • Please do not post any links until you have 3 posts as they will automatically be rejected to prevent SPAM. Many words are also blocked due to being used in SPAM Messages. Thanks!

New to computers, what are your thoughts on this build, change anything?

Dozer028

Hello. Im new to building a computer and hoping for some feedback on any changes or suggestion you may have so all the components work well together. Below is a list of parts i plan to use. Please review and give feedback, thank you.

Intel Core i7-9700K 3.6 GHz 8-Core Processor
Noctua NH-D15 82.5 CFM CPU Cooler
Gigabyte Z390 AORUS PRO WIFI ATX LGA1151 Motherboard
G.Skill Trident Z RGB 32 GB (2 x 16 GB) DDR4-3200 Memory
Samsung 970 Evo 1 TB M.2-2280 NVME Solid State Drive
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER 8 GB Video Card
Asus PG279Q ROG Swift 27.0" 2560x1440 165 Hz Monitor
Cooler Master MWE Gold 750 W 80+ Gold Certified Fully Modular ATX Power Supply

Last edited:

Bond007

Most people would go with an AMD build now (so change motherboard and CPU), since it offers more bang for your $ now and is actually competitive/better for most uses. Ryzen 5 3600 or Ryzen 7 3700X if you go that route.

Otherwise, don't get a 2.5" SSD, get something NVMe based (faster and no wires).

Power supply?

What is your budget and goal for your build?

Dozer028

updated original post to show power supply. My goal for this build is to have a top tier gaming computer than can be used as a home computer as well. I dont want to have to be upgrading parts every few years if i can avoid it. Mainly gaming though. Budget is roughly 2500 or less

gingerbee

I would go ryzen and power supply, this is just me but I always try to go Seasonic PSU. but if it's intel you set on looks pretty good. I can second that SATA drive swapped for a nvme drive

MARSTG

Intel has nothing competitive and balanced these days. That monitor you already have it or plan to buy it ?

Dozer028