What's new
  • Please do not post any links until you have 3 posts as they will automatically be rejected to prevent SPAM. Many words are also blocked due to being used in SPAM Messages. Thanks!

New Watercooled Setup

cdn_Madrach

Well-known member
Joined
Feb 9, 2007
Messages
627
Location
Miramichi, New Brunswick
Getting ready to start WC my system. I have all the parts. I was hoping that the swiftech radbox I have was going to simplify my project. Well it's not going to be that easy lol. With my crossfire setup the dongle cable for the mastercard is going to be in the way of my rad... but(fingers crossed) just read this tnite. Apparently with the 3200 chipset it dosen't matter which 16x slot the mastercard is connected to. If I'm able to put the mastercard in the bottom slot I will be able to use the far dvi connector on the slave card and the rad will fit no problem:clap: This project is going to take some time as I will be heading back to work for my 6 days on. But I'm really itchin to start lol. I'm gonna try and document the process and take lots of pics, hopefully as good as sswilson's project. The rad placement is hopefully gonna be the only obstacle. With any luck Ill be able to start taking it appart tomorrow.:clap:
 

sswilson

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 9, 2006
Messages
17,897
Location
Moncton NB
Any cutting going to be happening, or is it all pretty well going to bolt on?

If you're cutting, don't forget the "measure twice, cut once" rule. :)

Looking forward to seeing your build.

Don't forget to get us some pre-build idle/load temps for comparison.
 

cdn_Madrach

Well-known member
Joined
Feb 9, 2007
Messages
627
Location
Miramichi, New Brunswick
Any cutting going to be happening, or is it all pretty well going to bolt on?

If you're cutting, don't forget the "measure twice, cut once" rule. :)

Looking forward to seeing your build.

Don't forget to get us some pre-build idle/load temps for comparison.
No cutting planned, but on the back of my Kandalf case the punch out tabs aren't large enough for the tubing I'm using. So hopefully I will only be drilling larger holes. Also I did some research on my Asus crossfire board and in the bios I can set the priority order for the gfx card slots. Which means I can place the master card in the bottom slot and it will still be considered the master card:clap: . Will get some idle and load temps tomorrow before I start tearing it appart. Oh and of course some before pics.
 

sswilson

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 9, 2006
Messages
17,897
Location
Moncton NB
One of the things I wish I'd done with my build was to use some form of trim on the holes I cut out for the tubing. (Going to fix that before I re-install a cpu block).

Just something to consider. After the build I was concerned that the sides of the holes I drilled might be sharp enough to wear through the hose.
 

cdn_Madrach

Well-known member
Joined
Feb 9, 2007
Messages
627
Location
Miramichi, New Brunswick
One of the things I wish I'd done with my build was to use some form of trim on the holes I cut out for the tubing. (Going to fix that before I re-install a cpu block).

Just something to consider. After the build I was concerned that the sides of the holes I drilled might be sharp enough to wear through the hose.
The kit came with rubber inserts that you mount in the holes so the tubbing can pass through the case safely :)
 

cdn_Madrach

Well-known member
Joined
Feb 9, 2007
Messages
627
Location
Miramichi, New Brunswick
Update

All I have left is to put the PSU back in and hook it up, hook up hoses and check for leaks. I took lots of pics and I gotta say Swiftech is top notch:thumb: . As you will see from my pics when I'm done the Wblocks are well constructed and the finish is exceptional. So far assembly is pretty straight forward. Well that's it for now. Should be able to find some time the end of the week or early next week to finish and post the pics and logs:clap: .
 

Babrbarossa

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 2, 2006
Messages
3,730
Location
New Brunswick
Darn it! I can't view the pics for some reason!

Edit- oh never mind- I've got them-- Looks good (and that a real purdy case! ;-)) Seriously, though- there's a ton of room in there.

Where are you going to mount the rad?
 
Last edited:

Latest posts

Twitter

Top