What's new
  • Please do not post any links until you have 3 posts as they will automatically be rejected to prevent SPAM. Many words are also blocked due to being used in SPAM Messages. Thanks!

No display on my new build

CactusJoe

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 26, 2008
Messages
169
Hello, i need help plz ;(

I just put on together every part of my new cpu and... i got no display. Nothing comes out of the display port on the Mobo or on the GPU. i tried a few things like moving the ram sticks around and such but im starting to think i have a bad part....

Is there something i should check before RMA?

CPU - Intel - Core i7-9700K 3.6GHz 8-Core Processor
CPU - Cooler Cooler Master - Hyper 212 EVO 82.9 CFM Sleeve Bearing CPU Cooler
Motherboard - MSI gaming plus Z370
Memory - G.Skill - Aegis 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4-3200
Storage - Samsung - 970 Evo 500GB M.2-2280 Solid State Drive
Video Card - Asus - GeForce RTX 2080 8GB ROG Strix Gaming OC Video Card
Case - Fractal Design - Meshify C ATX Mid Tower Case
Power Supply - EVGA - SuperNOVA G1+ 650W Fully-Modular
Monitor - Asus - ROG SWIFT PG278QR 27.0" 2560x1440 165Hz Monitor

Let me know if this isnt the right place ill delete post tyyyy
 

sswilson

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 9, 2006
Messages
17,939
Location
Moncton NB
Moved to troubleshooting.

Did you try with an hdmi cable to your TV?

Any lights on the board? (I really wish boards still came with speakers for post error codes.... :\ )
 

CactusJoe

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 26, 2008
Messages
169
ty

I tried with hdmi and vga cable to an old monitor but it still says no input detected
 

sswilson

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 9, 2006
Messages
17,939
Location
Moncton NB
Any lights or fans coming on?

Debug_cmos reset.jpg

Did you try a cmos reset? Does the debug led have any kind of indication on it?

edit: Does the power supply fan come on?
 

CactusJoe

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 26, 2008
Messages
169
mobo is lighting up fans are working
psu fan is working aswell

the debug light is on and red at boot and stays on

bad cpu?? i dont know much about that debug thing...
 

sswilson

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 9, 2006
Messages
17,939
Location
Moncton NB
Looks like there are 4 lights... which one is lit going from the top down?

If it's the first one it would indicate an issue with the CPU.
 

sswilson

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 9, 2006
Messages
17,939
Location
Moncton NB
Ummmmmm.......

> CPU - Intel - Core i7-9700K 3.6GHz 8-Core Processor

Unless there's been a bios update, it doesn't look like that motherboard is compatible with the processor you've chosen.
 

CactusJoe

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 26, 2008
Messages
169
second light is for ram from the manual
switched around a stick now it dosnt light up so no more debug light

i still dont have display tho ;_((((
 

CactusJoe

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 26, 2008
Messages
169
Holy smokes i think i found it
9th gen are compatible with z370 but they need a bios update

now the question is...
how do i update a mobo bios without display
 

Latest posts

Twitter

Top