What's new
  • Please do not post any links until you have 3 posts as they will automatically be rejected to prevent SPAM. Many words are also blocked due to being used in SPAM Messages. Thanks!

No DVI output?

Mibs

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 5, 2007
Messages
311
Location
St. John's, NL
Is there something wrong here or am I just completely missing something? I recently purchased a Samsung 226bw which is beautiful btw, anyway I plug it in using the supplied DVI cable, no display on screen. Switch to the VGA cable and everything is fine. This wouldn't really bother me expect for that I want to be able to use the VGA input for my xbox 360 and the DVI for my PC so I can easily switch between inputs with the button on the monitor. I tried searching around google a bit but couldn't find any response. Any suggestions? I feel like there is something completely obvious that I am just missing altogether. Thanks.
 

sswilson

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 9, 2006
Messages
17,864
Location
Moncton NB
One of the switches on the bottom of the monitor will switch between analog/digital/auto for your input source.

I suspect you've got it set for analog.
 

Mibs

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 5, 2007
Messages
311
Location
St. John's, NL
I guess I should have clarified that in my first post...when I use the DVI cable and switch to digital mode there is nothing. When I go back to analog mode and use the vga cable I have a picture.
 

sswilson

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 9, 2006
Messages
17,864
Location
Moncton NB
Might be a bum cable then, otherwise we're talking either vid card digital O/P or monitor digital I/P.

Do you have another computer available that you could plug the monitor into in order to verify the O/P of the video card?
 

Mibs

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 5, 2007
Messages
311
Location
St. John's, NL
I tried it in the other PC that I have and had the same problem. Could be a bad cable, that would be pretty lame.
 

sswilson

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 9, 2006
Messages
17,864
Location
Moncton NB
I tried it in the other PC that I have and had the same problem. Could be a bad cable, that would be pretty lame.
Heh...yeah, but a hell of a lot better than a dead digital I/P from the monitor or a dead O/P from the vid card..... :)
 

enaberif

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 9, 2006
Messages
11,391
Location
Calgahree, AB
Make sure you install the "Analog" AND "Digital" drivers off the cd it comes with otherwise it may not work properly.
 

Mibs

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 5, 2007
Messages
311
Location
St. John's, NL
I installed drivers from the cd the monitor came with, nothing changed. I don't think they actually do anything to be honest the cd is crap.
 

Mibs

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 5, 2007
Messages
311
Location
St. John's, NL
Did you set the DVI as the output in windows? Or did you reboot with the DVI plugged in?
Tried it both ways. Also tried both connectors on the video card. Also got a friend to try and mess around with it to see what he could do but to no avail, It must be a bad cable, it's the only thing I can think of.
 

Twitter

Top