What's new
  • Please do not post any links until you have 3 posts as they will automatically be rejected to prevent SPAM. Many words are also blocked due to being used in SPAM Messages. Thanks!

Nvme (via adapter) or sata SSD for my ageing desktop - not for boot

Bond007

My storage space starting to dwindle in my current build. I am running a 500gb mx500 with windows etc, and a 1tb wd black HDD for games/storage. The games are going to get moved off the HDD and on to an SSD.

My conundrum: SATA 2.5 is cheaper and will be a simple install to my desktop, but I feel like it will be a waste when I eventually do a rebuild (maybe in a year or so). If I go NVME I will have to deal with getting an adapter (PCIE I assume). I have never used an adapter for this before and really not sure if it is worth my time and money for games.

Basically I like the ideal of keeping it simple and cheap with a 2.5", but wonder if I will regret it when it is time to recycle the drive.

Thoughts?

JD

Staff member
I don't think you really will regret having a SATA SSD, nothing wrong with them and would still be totally fine for storing games on.

And they're still generally cheaper than a decent NVMe drive anyhow.

ipaine

If you do want to get a NVME drive then you can get adapters. I have one at work and will try to remember to let you know which one it is. So far it has worked when I needed it to.

Lysrin

I used this in my previous 4790K system. Worked great, cheap, suggested by @JD a while back: https://www.amazon.ca/Rivo-Riser-Extender-Drvie-Adapter/dp/B01N09W21D

The upside of NVMe is that you have a fast drive to move to your new system when the time comes; ditch the daughter card then and use an NVMe slot on the new board. However, I agree with JD that you won't regret the SATA SSD, especially given the price and your intended use. That can easily move to your new system too when the time comes. I did that with mine when I went 4790K to 8700K.