What's new
  • Please do not post any links until you have 3 posts as they will automatically be rejected to prevent SPAM. Many words are also blocked due to being used in SPAM Messages. Thanks!

ok here's a new one

gingerbee

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 22, 2009
Messages
7,121
Location
Orillia, Ontario
Ok so everybody knows that I have been having weird pc problems that seem to change which part is not working right lol.

first, it was ram dropping out then bios had to backed up to an early version to work
( have all my ram show up).
Well now no matter what I do one stick seems to not wanna boot up. I mean sometimes it stops pc from boot other times it just doesn't show up, the strange thing is every ram test I have run when I could get it to show up and boot up ok tested fine.

So my question is how can ram been screwed up and still test fine and pls some recommendations for ryzen ram 2800 or up pls

thanks all :thumb:

pretty sure I am going to end up buying a new setup 2700+board+ram soon getting tired of this.

Oh FYI all I did was change my heatsink and everything stopped working right again

So I am amzon right now looking for good ram any suggestions would be great
 
Last edited:

Lysrin

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
3,150
Location
Nova Scotia
Any chance it could be a motherboard problem rather than the RAM stick? Perhaps a problem with the slot itself? Intermittent connection for lack of a better term. When the connection is made, things work fine. When not the RAM doesn't work. Changing the heatsink would undoubtedly disturb or flex the board even if you are careful, thus causing the issue to resurface.

Total shot in the dark, but perhaps. Any chance you have a second PC or board to test the RAM in? If it works consistently in the other setup then I would point my finger at the motherboard/slot itself.
 

Mr. Friendly

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 21, 2007
Messages
2,722
Location
British Columbia
first...is everything stock? no oc?


second...are all the sticks the same make/model and p/n? when you look at them, do they all look identical? mfr have been known to make changes without updating the p/n.


third...run memtest86 on each stick. could be one has gone bad, but will work on it's own but not with others. memtest86 for at least an hour...
 
Last edited:

gingerbee

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 22, 2009
Messages
7,121
Location
Orillia, Ontario
yup, I have several PC's and have checked it has same problems and I have tried moving the ram stick around still no joy. but if I take it out and move the other stick around no problems everything is fine.

just about to place an order for new ram and RMA the kit if this fails I will be buying new CPU and motherboard wanted to hold out for zen 2 but may not happen

board flex was my first thought but I have checked board is as straight as an arrow and using noctua heatsink so pretty much top of the line no board flex in my experience
 

gingerbee

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 22, 2009
Messages
7,121
Location
Orillia, Ontario
first...is everything stock? no oc?



second...are all the sticks the same make/model and p/n? when you look at them, do they all look identical?



third...run memtest86 on each stick. could be one has gone bad, but will work on it's own but not with others. memtest86 for at least an hour...[/QUOTE
no oc ram is matching sticks ( gskill 2800mhz ) and ran memtest too many times to count when I could get it to show up and ran windows ram test too both showed no errors
 

AkG

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 24, 2007
Messages
5,283
DL Taiphoon Burner. Run it on the rig with the mem. See what type of RAM ICs its using. Could be the board, could be your Ryzen's IMC just not liking the ram. Samsung B-dies are the most reliable. You probably got Hynix RAM ICs... in which case the ram is fine its the Ryzen IMC that is not happy with them. This assumes you tried multiple memtests for at least 1hour and they passed.

IIRC those corsair you linked were Hynix based but v4.31 of them is Sammy B-Die. No idea what version that amazon kit is. Could also be wrong. Been awhile since I looked it up. YMMV etc etc
 

gingerbee

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 22, 2009
Messages
7,121
Location
Orillia, Ontario
well, I just checked for the ram I just ordered and it says Samsung B-dies is whats on it thanks akg. The only reason I don't this that its the memory die is that the other stick runs perfectly

holy crap this makes no sense akg you may have something there the gskill says it's Hynix memory dies still I find it very strange that the other stick works fine and only one it doesn't like. crap may have to send off for RMA or sell as an 8 gig stick that someone may get lucky and get 16gig for the price of half an 8gig bew stick lol we will see

kinda glad my new ones show up on the samsung b-dies list lol
 

AkG

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 24, 2007
Messages
5,283
Does the 'good' stick work in the 'bad' sticks DIMM and vice versa? Could be as simple as the IMC is puking out on dual dimm config (ie it will only work with your hynix ram when only ONE stick is being used).
 

Latest posts

Twitter

Top