What's new
  • Please do not post any links until you have 3 posts as they will automatically be rejected to prevent SPAM. Many words are also blocked due to being used in SPAM Messages. Thanks!

Onboard Realtek HD + HD 2600XT = missing sound device

nikitos

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 16, 2007
Messages
89
Location
Edmonton, AB
Hi all
I've run into a pretty serious problem...The onboard sound (Realtek HD) stops working when the graphics card (Diamond HD2600XT) is in the PCIe slot. Everything works fine when onboard sound is used. I tried a few driver versions, including the latest 8.3 catalysts, nothing helps. When the graphics card is installed Windows (XP MCE) does not even detect ANY audio devices. When the graphics card is removed everything is back to normal and the sound chip is detected as usual. Before installing ATI drivers, Driver Cleaner Pro and Driver Sweeper were run, and I even tried it after a clean Windows install.

Does anyone have any idea of whats going on?

The rest of the system consists of:
E6300, stock
Asus mobo, not a retail one, but made for HP ( P5bw-la I think)
2Gb generic ram
Happauge WinTV150 Tuner
Dlink Wireless adapter (PCI)
LG Combo HD/Bluray drive
Seagate 320 7200.9 HD
Antec 430W PSU

Thanks!
 

Cheator

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 26, 2007
Messages
1,089
Location
Ottawa, Canada
Website
seriesoftubes.ca
If you mean that your onboard sound is not working, its because when you install the 2600xt it has a built in Realtek HD audio device as well. This is for audio over HDMI. You should just have to change which sound device is the priority one in windows sound properties. Right now its using the HDMI one.
 

nikitos

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 16, 2007
Messages
89
Location
Edmonton, AB
Thanks MpG, you led me in the right direction. The onboard was set to "Auto" in bios. I just had to change it to enabled. Thanks!
 

MpG

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 2, 2007
Messages
3,132
Location
Kitchener, ON
No problem, just finished fixing sound problems of my own. :biggrin:

A guy I was talking to at Canada Computers, when I mentioned that I had sound problems, the first thing he asked was whether I had an ATI video card. Common problem, apparently.
 

sswilson

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 9, 2006
Messages
17,863
Location
Moncton NB
Yeah, the inclusion of sound on the newer HDMI ATI cards has caused a few problems, but it seems to me they've been fairly easy to fix once the cause was found.
 
Joined
Jul 22, 2008
Messages
1
realtek lost of sound and control panel ? vs ATI sound card

lost sound !!!!!

REALTEK ON BOARD sound and also ATI sound ON card
with no sound in my speakers.

cpu = hp m7590n media center
mobo asus emery p5lp-le
ati card radeon hd2600 pro

same problem I had after re-installing xp then vista on top
( I had change my sound card prior of doing so )

THEN NO MORE sound at all. after a re-install of 3 days.
)(*)*)(/**&

PROBLEM WAS RESOLVED AFTER READING SOME OF THE COMMENTS IN THIS FORUM.... TKS ( IT GAVE ME AN IDEA ) SO

( PS. NOT EVEN THE TECH SUPPORT LINE @hp AFTER 1 HOUR FOUND A SOLUTION.)

(... that's to be expected )(*)(*&?*% ......:)))

my SOLUTION

BOOT the computer
before it loads GO TO THE BIOS of the MOBO
THEN with TAB key find advance or try and find SOUND option
IF the option is automatic change it
save your changes
exit the bios

let the computer finish the login process

Check if the realtek icon is in the control panel if so I guess U are OK

If not go to hp and download lates driver for UR cpu model pertaining to realtek
drivers,

reboot
.
You can also check in devise manager SOUND option
open up the + sing in sound option
the realtek high defenition sound should be there!

reboot ...and check again

Hope this will help you, because I got the idea from this forum.

phil...(pls leave feedback if U resolved the same problem I had )
 

sswilson

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 9, 2006
Messages
17,863
Location
Moncton NB
Something else along these lines that's come up for me a couple of times is the requirement to use any ATI card's driver disk first rather than going for the latest drivers from ATI's website.

Maybe it's just me, but the drivers for the HD sound on ATI cards doesn't seem to install along with the Catylist (sp?) drivers leaving the dreaded "unknown device" warning in device manager. (It's been a month or so since I checked, but I also couldn't find a stand-alone driver on the ATI site for HD Audio from their cards).

Once the shipped drivers are installed, the latest drivers are fine
 

Latest posts

Twitter

Top