What's new
  • Please do not post any links until you have 3 posts as they will automatically be rejected to prevent SPAM. Many words are also blocked due to being used in SPAM Messages. Thanks!

Overclocking and Cpu-Z

CactusJoe

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 26, 2008
Messages
169
Morning :)

SOOooOO! I finnaly managed to bypass that integrated "energy saver" in the p45 chipset :thumb:

I managed to change my cpu's FSB from 200 to 240, so 3.0ghz instead of 2.5.
Its showing fine when I boot the computer, and its stable enought.

Theres a weird thing tho..
When i use cpu-z I see this :


The voltage always flickers (if thats the right word) it changes every 2-3 seconds... so does the computer core speed!

Its kinda scaring me right now..:help:
So if anyone can tell me if that is supposed to be happening /if not, what to do, it would be nice!

thanks
 

MpG

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 2, 2007
Messages
3,132
Location
Kitchener, ON
*sigh*

It's the power-saving option on the chip. When not under load, it drops the multiplier/voltage to save power. Not sure what motherboard you have, but it should be called something like "EIST" or "Speedstep". Disable it if you don't want the switching. Doesn't usually matter much, unless you want exact control over the CPU multiplier.
 

Babrbarossa

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 2, 2006
Messages
3,730
Location
New Brunswick
He's not sighing because it's a dumb question- it's a good question - just a common one- turn off C1E and speedstep in the bios to stop this if you don't want it.
 

MpG

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 2, 2007
Messages
3,132
Location
Kitchener, ON
Yeah, I probably should have omitted that, and if it came across poorly, I do apologize. But it's an extremely common question, and I have no idea why the CPU-Z designers (among others) have yet incorporate a visible flag that notifies the user that a power-savings option is activated.
 

1Tanker

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 2, 2007
Messages
1,167
Location
Ontario
Yeah, I probably should have omitted that, and if it came across poorly, I do apologize. But it's an extremely common question, and I have no idea why the CPU-Z designers (among others) have yet incorporate a visible flag that notifies the user that a power-savings option is activated.
That would be a good idea. :thumb:
 

BALISTX

Well-known member
Joined
Feb 12, 2007
Messages
2,042
Location
Ottawa, ON
Almost everyone has asked this question when they attempt their first overclock. I even asked it. I think we should make a sticky of FAQ questions when it comes to overclocking. I think this might help cut down on these questions getting repeated over and over again.
 

1Tanker

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 2, 2007
Messages
1,167
Location
Ontario
Almost everyone has asked this question when they attempt their first overclock. I even asked it. I think we should make a sticky of FAQ questions when it comes to overclocking. I think this might help cut down on these questions getting repeated over and over again.
It doesn't help when you don't see it. Most noobs don't know to look for stickies either. :whistle:
 

matsta31

Well-known member
Joined
May 17, 2008
Messages
2,196
Location
Montreal
lol the pain of a new Overclocker.

you need to look for stickies, but you dont know what a sticky is.....

you want to ask a question, but you dont know how...

Altough I want to congratulate the user, his question was really clear. Be aware that most of the forum about overcloking wont even answer you or will insult you when you ask this question ! So that you have a clear answer and an excuse show you how this place is a nice place to be !

Dont forget to fold fo the HWC team !
 

encorp

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 17, 2008
Messages
3,406
Actually,

You should title it "Hot sex here!!!"

Then no one will miss it :D
 

Latest posts

Twitter

Top