What's new
  • Please do not post any links until you have 3 posts as they will automatically be rejected to prevent SPAM. Many words are also blocked due to being used in SPAM Messages. Thanks!

Partition on Linux Mint

botat29

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 4, 2010
Messages
830
Location
Montreal
I run Linux Mint since a wild in VM, and I want to install it for good on my main PC. ( Will get out this Windows 8 no sense)

I have few question about the drive partition.

For now I have a 40 GB SSD and a 2 TB Mecanical formated to NTFS with data one it. ( I have an extra new 2 TB HD )

So the question; If I connect only the 40 GB SSD and I install Mint , can I simply connect the 2 TB after and have access to my Data , or will be better to install the 40 SSD and a blank 2 TB GB and then transfer the data on it since I have a duplicate on my 2012 servers . In boot case, what is the best way to create partitions, keep in mind that I don't really create partition in Linux before.
 

enaberif

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 9, 2006
Messages
11,391
Location
Calgahree, AB
I run Linux Mint since a wild in VM, and I want to install it for good on my main PC. ( Will get out this Windows 8 no sense)

I have few question about the drive partition.

For now I have a 40 GB SSD and a 2 TB Mecanical formated to NTFS with data one it. ( I have an extra new 2 TB HD )

So the question; If I connect only the 40 GB SSD and I install Mint , can I simply connect the 2 TB after and have access to my Data , or will be better to install the 40 SSD and a blank 2 TB GB and then transfer the data on it since I have a duplicate on my 2012 servers . In boot case, what is the best way to create partitions, keep in mind that I don't really create partition in Linux before.
Linux can read from NTFS just fine and write to it to it fine but its still a "heed of caution to do it" sort of thing.

Windows can read from EXT3 and EXT4 with a driver installed.
 

botat29

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 4, 2010
Messages
830
Location
Montreal
Ok, let say I do a fresh install 100 % Mint, how to I partition it to have the OS on the SSD and the Data on the 2 TB ?
 

enaberif

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 9, 2006
Messages
11,391
Location
Calgahree, AB
Ok, let say I do a fresh install 100 % Mint, how to I partition it to have the OS on the SSD and the Data on the 2 TB ?
You don't. Install Mint onto the SSD and just mount the 2TB drive in linux and it will access the data just fine.
 

YoungMan

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 4, 2009
Messages
453
Location
Surrey, B.C.
You don't. Install Mint onto the SSD and just mount the 2TB drive in linux and it will access the data just fine.
I think he means he wants the /home directories on the HDD. If you just set the / mount point to the SSD, everything will go there by default.

To answer your question, during the setup process, choose the custom partition option. It will detect both drives and ask you where you want to put each directory.
 

enaberif

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 9, 2006
Messages
11,391
Location
Calgahree, AB
I think he means he wants the /home directories on the HDD. If you just set the / mount point to the SSD, everything will go there by default.

To answer your question, during the setup process, choose the custom partition option. It will detect both drives and ask you where you want to put each directory.
Not worth doing.. just keep linux on its own drive.
 

botat29

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 4, 2010
Messages
830
Location
Montreal
So I will put / on the SSD and /home on the mechanical , what about the swap, I put it on the SSD or the mechanical ? With 16 gb of RAM, did it will use the swap that much ?
 

botat29

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 4, 2010
Messages
830
Location
Montreal
It's Pinguy that I finally install.

/ SSD 40 GB
/home HD 650 GB
swap 16 GB

I separate the /home so if I want change the distro, it's more easy

for now I even have few VM in Virtual Box, my remote desktop with my servers work , thunderbird was so easy to configue ( I just put my email address and password, no need to give servers setting) , my conky and docky are setup , everything is already install with Pinguy


 
Last edited:

Latest posts

Twitter

Top