What's new
  • Please do not post any links until you have 3 posts as they will automatically be rejected to prevent SPAM. Many words are also blocked due to being used in SPAM Messages. Thanks!

Post your Network

JD

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 16, 2007
Messages
8,920
Location
Toronto, ON
Well I got an uber old SpeedTouch Home(?) modem from Bell. It only has a 10Mbps LAN port:haha:. That goes to my D-Link GamerLounge DGL-4300, which goes to a D-Link 8-port gigabit switch going to a Netgear 5-port gigabit switch.

Connected to the network are 4 desktops, a home "server", HTPC, XBOX360 (currently in repairs), 2 wireless laptops, wireless PDA and a Brother all-in-one.

Mostly everything is gigabit other than 1 desktop (my mom's), the XBOX and the printer.

Nothing extreme here. Just all home-consumer products.
 

lcdguy

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
2,065
Location
An undisclosed location
Well my network has changed ever so slightly now due to a freebe from my work :) I now have an old Compaq Proliant 3000 rack mount server :). Here are some pics of my network rack (not done yet) and the server.

Network Rack


Ok so from top to bottom

Speedtouch 516 Modem
Netgear 24 Port Managed Switch
Netgear Router
Email / Games Server
Lucent WAP
Netgear 16 Port Backup Switch
Intel SS-4000 NAS
Cisco Catalyst 5002 Switch (not used yet)
2500 Series Cisco Router (not in use yet)



This is not the best picture but considering the server weighs in at over 120lbs i am not to keen on moving it. But here it is in all it's glory.

Dual P2 450Mhz
640MB SD-RAM ECC
5x 9.1 SCSI in Raid 5
2x 18.1 SCSI in Raid 0+1
12/24GB DAT Tape Drive
CD-ROM Drive
Compaq Ethernet Nic

I know, i'm a nerd. :)
 
M

Misoprostol

Guest
Shaw Highspeed on Motorola Modem
D-LINK DIR-655 Wireless-N

wired:
Gaming Desktop
Girlfriend's Parents' Desktop
Media PC
QNAP TS-201 NAS unit

wireless:
Girlfriend's sister's laptop
Girlfriend's laptop
Nintendo Wii
 

Mars

Well-known member
Joined
Feb 26, 2007
Messages
492
Location
Calgary
I'm on one of 4 HP Procurve 48 port switches in this building... campus network, I don't think it qualifies as a "home network" by most stretches.
 

omgwtf

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 31, 2007
Messages
1,914
Location
Montreal
I have a shitty Speedstream 4200 from bell, thinking of pluging my other system to net and make it a server but i'm to lazy..
I hope I didn't posted here before..
 

Synth

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 18, 2007
Messages
687
Location
Ottawa-Hull
Website
www.plctech.ca
I have:

- A Trendnet Wireless G router (TEW-452BRP)
- A Freedoom 9 10/100mb switch
- 1 USACOM wireless G PCI NIC
- 1 Foxconn wireless G PCI NIC (Ralink RT2500)

1. HTPC (living room) accesses the web via wireless
2. Gaming PC accesses the web wired to the router
3. LAMP server connects to the web via switch plugged in the router
4. Girlfriend's PC connects to the web via switch as well

I know it looks like a stupid setup, but I'm trying to understand the ins and outs of networking, sub-networks, forwarding, firewalls, etc ...
 

Empty_Quarter

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 25, 2007
Messages
362
Location
Toronto
D-Link XtremeN wireless router
D-Link XtremeN PCI-E wifi card (main PC)
D-Link XtremeN PCI-E wifi card (HTPC)
D-Link XtremeN wifi card (laptop)
Hardwired PC.
 

cyclo

Active member
Joined
Sep 20, 2007
Messages
30
Location
GTA
4 x WRT54GL Routers (3 running DD-WRT and 1 running Tomato), 2 x WET54G Wireless bridges. All these connecting a couple of PCs and laptops, 2 Slingboxes, and an XBox around the house.
 

Twitter

Top