What's new
  • Please do not post any links until you have 3 posts as they will automatically be rejected to prevent SPAM. Many words are also blocked due to being used in SPAM Messages. Thanks!

Q6600 overclock to 3.0 GHz

Hermes¡¢

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 12, 2008
Messages
89
Hey guys,

When my computer gets here, I want to be able to overclock it to 3.0 GHz. I got a HDT cooling solution so I am well prepared. Now the only thing is the memory. I intially ordered some Redlines, but they are currently out of stock. I do not plan to go past a 3.0 GHz overclock on my CPU, so which memory is good enough? Would PC2-6400 with latency 4 timings be perfect?

I heard that there is no point in getting PC2-8000+ unless I want to get some big overclocks like an E8400 to 4.0Ghz or a Q6600 to 3.6 Ghz.

Anyways, I am unsure of hat to pick. If PC2-6400 is perfect, then I can get that with tight timings and have overall better performance.

What do you guys think?
 

SugarJ

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 17, 2008
Messages
6,894
Location
Langley, BC
IIRC, the Q6600 has a 8x multiplier. So you'd be at 8x375. DDR2-800 mem is fine.
 

encorp

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 17, 2008
Messages
3,403
IIRC = If I Recall

It's a 9.

I think it's best to go with 1000+ Check out the Mushkin Ascent's either the 8000 or the 8500.
 

MpG

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 2, 2007
Messages
3,132
Location
Kitchener, ON
Even if you don't strictly need the memory headroom, you can usually up the memory divider ratio to run your RAM faster, even if you haven't raised your FSB speed. The real-world benefits tend to be limited, but they exist. But yes, strictly speaking, DDR2-800 would work for your goals just fine.
 

joeperson

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
236
I did 9x333 on stock voltage and some really slow default memory timings. Cheap 6400 will do fine. The only thing that may be a problem would be the stability of the q6600 at a given voltage. I've seen older boards require a little extra vcore to keep things stable.
 

Hermes¡¢

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 12, 2008
Messages
89
Alright, with that being said, should I get some top of the line PC2-6400 RAM? Also, is that Corsair memory that comes with the cooler worth it? I might as well also mention: What is the difference between T1 and T2 in memory timings and which is better?
 

Xilikon

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 9, 2008
Messages
447
Location
Quebec City
8x400 = PC2-6400 area.
9x333 = PCR-5300 area.

You are fine with a PC2-6400 kit. The Redline is only good if you want to go with high fsb (up to 500) or with asynchronous memory (using a different multiplier instead of 1:1). I'm using a set of Redline myself with my Q6600 overclocked to 3.825 GHz.
 

Hermes¡¢

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 12, 2008
Messages
89
8x400 = PC2-6400 area.
9x333 = PCR-5300 area.

You are fine with a PC2-6400 kit. The Redline is only good if you want to go with high fsb (up to 500) or with asynchronous memory (using a different multiplier instead of 1:1). I'm using a set of Redline myself with my Q6600 overclocked to 3.825 GHz.
Okay thank you for confirming. :) if you have time, could you possibly answer the other 2 questions in the above post?

Thanks.
 

joeperson

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
236
Question 2 of three: No, unless you want to do memory overclocking.
 

Twitter

Top