What's new
  • Please do not post any links until you have 3 posts as they will automatically be rejected to prevent SPAM. Many words are also blocked due to being used in SPAM Messages. Thanks!

Q6600 still viable?

rjbarker

Well-known member
Joined
Feb 19, 2008
Messages
6,508
Location
Courtenay, B.C
^^^ The only reason the E8400 was mentioned is because they can be OC'd (most anyhow) to 4Ghz, I have no experience with the Quad Core Qxxxx Series, but would guess they wouldn't get to 4 Ghz speed as easily.
 

yycraven

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 7, 2007
Messages
1,049
Location
SK
I would not upgrade your Q6600 as of yet. I am running a X3210 @3.5GHz and still running all the new games with no issues .
Wait till the i5 or i7 come down in price before the upgrade.
 

rjbarker

Well-known member
Joined
Feb 19, 2008
Messages
6,508
Location
Courtenay, B.C
Wait till the i5 or i7 come down in price before the upgrade.
^^^ Iwouldn't hold your breath and any big price drops, even with the new release of I9......have a look at the price of the "old" Q9550" oe E8400....I paid $229 for my E8400 3 yrs ago...think its now around $190....thats a reduction of $40 in 3 yrs.......
You could be waiting a very long time for the I7's to drop in price.
 

Empty_Quarter

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 25, 2007
Messages
362
Location
Toronto
Yep, still running my Q6600 here, at stock too! Runs and plays everything I need it for without a hiccup. I see no reason to upgrade just yet.
 

lemonlime

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 10, 2008
Messages
522
Location
Greater Toronto Area
Couldn't agree more. The Q6600 was and still is a great chip. I have one in my day-to-day main rig that serves me very well at 3GHz. It's never had a problem with anything I've thrown at it, and with an SSD the rig feels super quick.

If anyone is trying to get a bit of extra performance out of their P35/P45 rigs, be sure to take a look at the performance level - or Trc - you are running in the BIOS. The "Auto" setting is usually way too high and memory latency suffers as a result. I was surprised at the performance boost I was able to get decreasing performance level from 9 to 5. Latency went way down. You can use "MemSet" to find out what your performance level is in Windows.
 

b1lk1

Well-known member
Joined
Feb 3, 2007
Messages
2,750
Location
Lindsay, Ontario
You don't even NEED a Quad yet. I run a E6750 OC'd to 3.3GHz and it still runs everything I throw at it with ease. 4GB of memory is more important than 4 cores.
 

Elton

Member
Joined
Mar 20, 2010
Messages
11
I'm running an E8400 with 0 problems so far. So I'd say the Q6600 has quite a bit of life in them still.

In fact I've been debating on whether or not to get a Q9400, they're quite cheap these days.
 

b1lk1

Well-known member
Joined
Feb 3, 2007
Messages
2,750
Location
Lindsay, Ontario
When it really comes down to it, my kids P4 661 still does quite well with most games with a HD3650 on a 20" LCD with 1680X1050 resolution. I mean it isn't a powerhouse and you need to be mindful of using higher settings and such, but most of us are running machines FAR more powerful than needed. Quads are still not needed by 90%+ of present users.
 

Latest posts

Twitter

Top