What's new
  • Please do not post any links until you have 3 posts as they will automatically be rejected to prevent SPAM. Many words are also blocked due to being used in SPAM Messages. Thanks!

Shaw charging overages, Telus is not - on CTV news.

ipaine

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 13, 2008
Messages
2,838
Location
Edmonton, AB

dustin1706

Well-known member
Joined
May 31, 2010
Messages
718
I go way over my telus limit most months and have never been charged a dime for it, nor received any warnings or anything. Definitely sticking with Telus.
 

gingerbee

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 22, 2009
Messages
7,121
Location
Orillia, Ontario
just stopping them form having to spend money so they can keep it in there greedy little pockets. bravo telus "we have spent 1.3 billion to keep are service up to date so we don't have to do this" building a better business for tomorrow. that's how it's done death to the crtc.
I mean really keeping Canada content Canada are kidding me 90% of tv is american programs the worlds changing faster then the old crtc can keep up with maybe we should start to think of are self's as a united north-america cause that is the facts folks, like it or not.
 

lowfat

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 12, 2007
Messages
9,206
Location
Grande Prairie, AB
It it ADSL. It isn't as if the extra bandwidth a single client uses will affect speed of other clients. If ADSL providers charge for more bandwidth used they really are just thieving from the consumer.
 

Shadowmeph

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 3, 2007
Messages
4,089
It it ADSL. It isn't as if the extra bandwidth a single client uses will affect speed of other clients. If ADSL providers charge for more bandwidth used they really are just thieving from the consumer.
Everyone that I know that has used Telus has changed to shaw because of the speeds allot of my friends used to use Telus because at the time it was allot cheaper but then it took 5 times longer the Shaw to download a 4gb file. Myself I have always used shaw. The only reason I use shaw is because of the speed if there was another company that was ADSL and has close to the same speed I would gladly switch . I am always downloading something from Linux distros to play around with ,to my TV episodes
 

Perineum

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 9, 2009
Messages
4,035
Location
Surrey, B.C.
I'll cancel Shaw in a heartbeat. I'm not ******* around with overages.

OOOH MY SHAW CONNECTION IS SOOOO FAST! Oh wait... overages....

At $2 per GB over my 100GB plan I'd owe $940 this month. I did 470GB over my limit this month. Me, + my 2 roommates, + extra holiday time, +steam sales = overages.

Do you think I would pay $900 in overages? Ever? No. I'll smash my rented modem on video though.....

Edit:

Found some information on the Shaw website

If you exceed the usage included in your package, don’t worry — we’ll notify you on your next bill and you won’t be charged. After that, you have a few options:

  • Upgrade to the next package level
  • Purchase a monthly data pack (10 GB for $5/month, 60 GB for $20/month, 250 GB for $50/month)
  • Maintain current plan and pay for each gigabyte used over your plan’s allotted amount ($1 or $2 depending on the plan)
So I guess that puts me at a BARGAIN price of $100 for overages then, plus the price of the internet package to begin with.

Although, I'm an understanding fellow, and I think that's only fair that they should charge me more for my service because they have to pay more into the Shaw pension plan.

Ex-CEO Jim Shaw gets $5.9-million pension - The Globe and Mail

The board of Shaw Communications Inc. voted to boost the pension payable to Jim Shaw when he retired as CEO of the company last month (Nov 2010), bringing his pension payments to almost $500,000 monthly.
 
Last edited:

crazyhorsejohnny

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 5, 2008
Messages
2,020
Location
Ottawa
It's only a matter of time before Telus starts charging too. Lets not kid ourselves, its all about making $$$$.
 

Latest posts

Twitter

Top