What's new
  • Please do not post any links until you have 3 posts as they will automatically be rejected to prevent SPAM. Many words are also blocked due to being used in SPAM Messages. Thanks!

SLi coming for AMD chipsets

The RealRollo

Banned
Joined
Jun 30, 2010
Messages
213
We had a post about this a while back. Older news now.

ST
I know it was rumored, just wanted to put the first official notification of it out there. Personally I hope the Bulldozer chips + SLi mobos mark a return to having real choices when building a PC.

My 980a/PhenomII 965 makes an OK platform for a single card, but is a bottleneck for my multi GPU sets.
 

Soultribunal

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 8, 2008
Messages
8,282
Location
Mississauga
I know it was rumored, just wanted to put the first official notification of it out there. Personally I hope the Bulldozer chips + SLi mobos mark a return to having real choices when building a PC.

My 980a/PhenomII 965 makes an OK platform for a single card, but is a bottleneck for my multi GPU sets.
Fair enough, well it will be nice and anyone who knows me here knows that I have bitched about that since AMD dropped the nVidia Chipsets, and since nVidia stopped making decent ones.

ST
 

b1lk1

Well-known member
Joined
Feb 3, 2007
Messages
2,750
Location
Lindsay, Ontario
Ssadly, Nvidia fell on their faces HARD after the NF4 chipset, nothing has come close since, no matter what platform they tried to support. I wouldn't hold my breath for anything groundshaking since I don't believe Nvidia's heart is in chipsets so they are not likely to make much of an effort in my mind.
 

The RealRollo

Banned
Joined
Jun 30, 2010
Messages
213
Ssadly, Nvidia fell on their faces HARD after the NF4 chipset, nothing has come close since, no matter what platform they tried to support. I wouldn't hold my breath for anything groundshaking since I don't believe Nvidia's heart is in chipsets so they are not likely to make much of an effort in my mind.
These are AMD chipsets, NVIDIA is just licensing SLi to them. (like they do Intel) So you'll have AMD motherboards with both CF and SLi as options, just like on intel boards.

If the new AMD chips are competitive on performance, we'll all have the first real option we've had in years. This could be big.
 

francisw19

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 8, 2009
Messages
243
Location
Alberta
Thanks for the link. I suppose with nvidia being out of the chipset market, I'm not entirely surprised by this. Anything nvidia can do to enable SLI on both major platforms just brings in more business for them, IMO. (i.e. AMD users can go SLI instead of just settling for a single nvidia GPU).
 

_dangtx_

Banned
Joined
Aug 4, 2007
Messages
12,684
Location
mtl
yup. instead of you clicking a certain free program twice to get sli going on your amd motherboard,they will
save you those 2 clicks :)
 

Latest posts

Twitter

Top