What's new
  • Please do not post any links until you have 3 posts as they will automatically be rejected to prevent SPAM. Many words are also blocked due to being used in SPAM Messages. Thanks!

smartphone slow down

tzetsin

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 1, 2008
Messages
1,204
Location
AB
Hey guys, My brother in law came to me yesterday because his HTC mogul phone developed a massive slowdown, as if there was a program running flat out slowing everything else down. I checked out the runnning programs via taskmanager and saw nothing running outof the ordinary, or running with unusual cpu usage. the ram usage is very normal, with lots left when no apps are running. Soft resets change nothing, just boots up to the same problem.

Now, i dont know what the problem is on the phone exactly, but i'm pretty sure a hard reset will fix it, i told him to come back today when he gets off work and i have some time, an i'd do just that, but the situations changed...

I fired up my own phone today (an HTC touch pro) and its doing the EXACT same thing. Its one thing to assume an error when its only one phone that has the problem, but what are the odds of 2 non identical phones, that dont share the same hardware nor software having the same problem within a day of each other? I would almost guess virus, but niether phone has shared files (not recently anyway) and i'm certain mine hasnt been on the net, nor have blutooth on in at least a week. Most definatly not the same time his phone was here.

Again, i'm pretty sure a hard reset will cure both phones, and with microsoft's active sync, its actually a pretty pain free process, but i'd sure like to know the cause.

So i guess the point to my post is... is this an isolated problem or has anyone else here seen / heard or experienced this with their own smartphone?
 

Lpfan4ever

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 5, 2008
Messages
3,092
Location
Calgary
My HTC Touch seemed to be fine today, although I'm not running stock firmware so I don't think that's much help.
 

grinder

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 16, 2007
Messages
829
is your microsoft activesync software up to date too? I assume you are running the latest firmware too?
 

reaverclan

Well-known member
Joined
May 31, 2007
Messages
456
Location
USA,CA
i have a htc kasier and touch pro, make sure u get a 3rd party task manager as certain programs will hide themselves from showing in the windows one. what ROM are u running, if your not happy with it try build os form ppc kitchen.
 

tzetsin

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 1, 2008
Messages
1,204
Location
AB
both the phones are running custom roms (not the same ones since they are different models) and both phones have 3rd aprty taskmanagers which show no unusual cpu usage. thats why i'm perplexed. i dont see any reason at all why the phones should be acting this way.

Activesync on my own computer is up to date. i'm not even sure if he has active sync on his computer though.
 

reaverclan

Well-known member
Joined
May 31, 2007
Messages
456
Location
USA,CA
are u using anything like sph mobile shell? or wizbar advance? and if u have vista u should use mobile device center not active sync.
 

tzetsin

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 1, 2008
Messages
1,204
Location
AB
nope to both of those. I reflashed mine already and its working fine. Not sure what his is doin i havnt talk to him since then
 

reaverclan

Well-known member
Joined
May 31, 2007
Messages
456
Location
USA,CA
eh alright its Windows Mobile it has some glitches lol, oh btw do u have 6.0 or 6.1?
 

tzetsin

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 1, 2008
Messages
1,204
Location
AB
his is 6.0, mines 6.1 I know all about win mobile glitches lol believe you me. its just really strange that we'd both have the same problem at about the same time on two phones that are almost nothing alike. Was curious to see if it was a problem for a few people or just a really wierd coincidence. Its looking more like a coincidence though because so far as i can tell, no one else has had a similar problem anywhere on the nets. Thanks for the input though guys.
 

Twitter

Top