What's new
  • Please do not post any links until you have 3 posts as they will automatically be rejected to prevent SPAM. Many words are also blocked due to being used in SPAM Messages. Thanks!

[Solved] - Computer stuck on 'ASUS' splash screen

MittWaffle

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 19, 2007
Messages
142
This is extremely weird, but hopefully someone might know the issue.

My mothers computer has recently bogged down (10 minutes to load a website etc etc) I assumed it was Rogers upgrading their networks. Last night the internet stopped responding all together while the comptuer was fast regardless so I restarted and now the computer is locked on the 'ASUS' bios splash screen.

I have tried the following
-Removed CMOS
-Cleaned all system fans/PSU
-Tried different sata ports
-Tried full power off/on (drain all system charge)
-Tried no hard drive.

+I cannot log into the bios as keyboard functions are not responding.


PSU appears to be working, also does the new 640GB hard drive.
I have no idea what the hell is wrong and need some help as this is a business computer that is essential.




Also the system is this.
Q6600 @ STOCK
4GB Mushkin 1066
Asus P5Q PRO
600 watt OCZ Gamer PSU
 
Last edited:

_dangtx_

Banned
Joined
Aug 4, 2007
Messages
12,684
Location
mtl
hey.

does the bios screen ask you anything? or does it give an error? press f1,etc?
 

MittWaffle

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 19, 2007
Messages
142
I'll take a screen shot, no you would think the computer is working intill you realize it just sitting on the same screen.





Uploaded with ImageShack.us
 

MittWaffle

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 19, 2007
Messages
142
I am going to try the following.

-1 Stick of RAM (try both)
-PS/2 Keyboard (USB might not be functioning)

I will report back.
 

_dangtx_

Banned
Joined
Aug 4, 2007
Messages
12,684
Location
mtl
thanks for the pic. usually if it needs to go forward it asks you.

if that doesnt work either take it appart completely, reaseating cpu and such. or swap ram and cpu if you can with your parts
 

MittWaffle

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 19, 2007
Messages
142
PS/2 Keyboard draws no power
Ram switching does not cause any difference either.

-I'm limited by RAM (DDR3 Only)
-Also I have no 775 socket cpu to swamp either, should i try hooking up a speaker to the board? I'm not sure if the P5Q even has one.
 

_dangtx_

Banned
Joined
Aug 4, 2007
Messages
12,684
Location
mtl
ok take it out.

you can, a number of times can help but i go by feeling, usually. me bud brought me a puter that did not post, took out a stick of ram and the fans spinned differently. hooked it up to a monitor(d'oh!) and there it was.

whats the video card again?

edit reseat that as well, and the put it together on the table.
 

MittWaffle

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 19, 2007
Messages
142
I have installed a speaker, 1 beep as it starts; then nothing else while it stays on that screen.

I am going down to reseat the GPU. This is a 8600 GT.
 

Latest posts

Twitter

Top