What's new
  • Please do not post any links until you have 3 posts as they will automatically be rejected to prevent SPAM. Many words are also blocked due to being used in SPAM Messages. Thanks!

Steam Autumn Sale is up

FreeKnight

CMetaphor

Quadfather
@Lysrin Opinions on SW squadrons and Ace Combat 7? I've considered both in the past and know you're a big flight/space guy. Squadrons I've been avoiding because 1) it's EA, 2) very few ships and 3) claims of lackluster co-op support (which is very important to me).

Ace Combat 7 seems more arcade-y but has higher ratings, but I have zero knowledge of the franchise or the game.

Care to educate us? Worth buying either?

moocow

Ace Combat 7 is okay, no native support for joysticks outside of the branded one so you have to go edit the settings in an ini file. There is a backstory for the universe that the game is set it but more of reading thing.

Lysrin

Well @CMetaphor I don't have a lot of info for you on either I'm afraid. I have avoided SW Squadrons as well because of reviews and a seeming lack of content in the game. However a friend of mine did buy and he is enjoying it. Said it isn't great, and the poor reviews aren't wrong, but if you go in with low expectations (or get it cheap enough) there is some enjoyment there. Curious though isn't it regarding the reviews. Some big names seem to like it, user reviews aren't great, the reviewer I like wasn't impressed. Quite a mixed bag. There were also a lot of issues with joystick and HOTAS support. Not sure if those have been fixed or not. I think I will likely pic it up at some point to see, but I don't know how cheap it will have to be.

Ace Combat 7 is a bit too arcade style for my taste in fighter sims. If you want something casual it may be fine. Good point from @moocow

Last edited:

CMetaphor

Quadfather