What's new
  • Please do not post any links until you have 3 posts as they will automatically be rejected to prevent SPAM. Many words are also blocked due to being used in SPAM Messages. Thanks!

Storage upgrades

Shadowarez

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 4, 2013
Messages
1,402
Location
Arctic Canada
Hi all just need some input from my Fav tech community.

Project in mind is overhaul my Beast Rigs storage system.

Currently in use.

1.500gb 860 Sammy Evo (Boot)
2.512gb 850 Pro ssd (steam 1)
3.800gb Intel 910 Pcie Ssd (Steam 2)

Planned upgrade
1.1TB Sammy 870 Pro nvme (Boot)
2.64gb Hypetane nvme (cache)
3.14 TB Seagate iron wolf (steam) +cache
4. Or ASRock Quad Ultra + 4x 1TB Samsung ssds

I was thinking if I get a generally fast as hell boot drive then load in the 64gb Optane can I use that to say cache the steam games on the Iron wolf to ssd like performance.

Or would I be better off getting the ASRock Quad Ultra and 4x 1tb SSDs for my steam Folder?

Onky reason didn't put in for 900p is price is Astronomical 280gb $400+ just isn't enough capacity and 900gb $1400-1700 is bit nuts.
 

Bond007

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 24, 2009
Messages
5,031
Location
Nova Scotia
Personally I wouldn’t bother with optane and would just stick with ssds. That being said, I will be honest and say I haven’t put faith in that technology sticking around due to pricing.
 

sswilson

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 9, 2006
Messages
17,897
Location
Moncton NB
I stand to be corrected, but I doubt optane would be much benefit on a "game" drive. Load times are what it's all about when it comes to games, and depending on the number of games you've got those will be much too large to end up being cached.

Optane would only be effective for repetitive daily tasks like browsers, email, office files, calendar, etc....
 

Shadowarez

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 4, 2013
Messages
1,402
Location
Arctic Canada
Ahh ok. Thought it'd cache the game files. I'll grab a ASRock. Quad Ultra and 4x 1tb drives.

Thank you guys this is 2nd last part of build getting all my storage on 1 type. Next is the 3 rads 2 480s a 420 up top.
 

AkG

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 24, 2007
Messages
5,283
Yeah Optane is all about low latency. OS... some applications. Not games. I have to find a home user scenario that NEEDS optane for caching outside of pairing it with a HDD as an OS+apps hybrid.

Stick the cache on a different drive - ie one that is not the same as whatever needs the caching (D for OS, etc etc). Use the mega hdd for long term storage... and any game you are playing 'now' stick it on a SSD.
 

gingerbee

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 22, 2009
Messages
7,107
Location
Orillia, Ontario
you could try what Linus media group is doing for there gaming lounge it's something along the lines with primocache, To cache games not really sure how it works since I just use SSD for all my game library sorry but its worth checking out

Ya, I think you can just have a huge HDD with one big SSD. For primocache it will cache the most common games you play but,

I also heard of tiered storage with Windows 10 that lets you kinda do the same thing here's a link how to set up that. Again just trying to throw you some options on game caching I don't have any personal experience with any of these setups

https://diywhitebox.com/how-to-configure-tiered-storage-spaces-on-windows-10/

good luck hope something works out for ya:thumb:
 
Last edited:

JD

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 16, 2007
Messages
9,000
Location
Toronto, ON
I'm pretty sure Optane only accelerates the boot drive and only the partition that holds Windows. Wouldn't do anything for your Steam HDD.

Optane, at least on the consumer side, seems like it came too late. SSD's are so cheap now, there's basically no reason to use a HDD as your OS/boot drive and using Optane to accelerate a SSD doesn't do much. On the data center side though, I can see it being useful as it caches against large arrays and could greatly benefit SQL or other database engines.

I would say just get as many 2TB 970 EVO's that you want/need.

The ASRock Quad setup would only work on a compatible motherboard. I would be inclined to stick to the ASUS Hyper card instead if you want to go that route. Your motherboard has dual ROG DIMM.2 though, so that is 4x NVMe already...
 

Shadowarez

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 4, 2013
Messages
1,402
Location
Arctic Canada
Yeah from what I read though the dimm.2 is split the one nearest the Io backplate is connected via cpu the one on right is pch connected. Only devices in rig is GPU and the storage maybe a soundcard if CES shows any being released in 2019. If not GPU+Storage
 
Last edited:

Prickly007

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 8, 2014
Messages
784
Location
Metro-Vancouver
I still researching options, but am leaning towards a U.2 900P or 905p as my new boot drive*, thereby freeing up my Intel 750 drive for Steam** and buying more HDDs as the need arises. Cough... Plex... cough.

For both Shadowarez and myself, do people still buy used enterprise drives off of ebay?


* The steep price would be offset by the free money that accumulates every month in my Amazon.com account.
** Currently size is less than 200GB as I don't play that many games simultaneously.
 

AkG

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 24, 2007
Messages
5,283
Unless it is a killer deal I would probably not go used for hdds. Def not without seeing a smart reporting showing power on hour count, and smart reallocation count (ie bad sectors that have been remapped), etc etc.
Honestly... go Seagate Cuda Pro. Near enterprise quality at consumer prices with 5yr warranty with first two years also covering free data recovery services (that can be upgraded beyond that for a rather reasonable fee). ;)

The Intel 900 series are beasts. IDK if you will notice the latency improvements over say a sammy pro... but yeah they are very, very good kit. Its what I run as my 'C' drives in MY rigs. YMMV but if the cost is not a factor they are an excellent choice.
 

Latest posts

Twitter

Top