What's new
  • Please do not post any links until you have 3 posts as they will automatically be rejected to prevent SPAM. Many words are also blocked due to being used in SPAM Messages. Thanks!

That's a first...

3.0charlie

3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
Joined
May 22, 2007
Messages
9,911
Location
Bedford QC
Just completed my customer's build, with an E6300, evga 680i mobo, OCZ 600W Gamextreem, blah, blah, blah.

No OC yet, temps are fine (24C) with Swiftech's Ultra+ WC system.

Started Orthos just for the fun of it and.... the darn thing crashed in 2 seconds! Voltages are default except for Mem (OCZ Gold) @ 2.1V.

How could it be unstable, when all the settings are stock?

John
 

sswilson

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 9, 2006
Messages
17,898
Location
Moncton NB
Heh.... It's actually a lot more common than you'd think.

Do some googling to find OCZ's recommended timings for those chips. I'd almost guarantee that your board isn't setting them up properly.
 

3.0charlie

3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
Joined
May 22, 2007
Messages
9,911
Location
Bedford QC
5-5-5-15 2T, default RAM and mobo concurs. Good call, but all is fine there. Should I bump the Vcore volts a notch? I'm going to OC the chip later tonight.

Is it really that common? Instable while at default?
 

sswilson

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 9, 2006
Messages
17,898
Location
Moncton NB
5-5-5-15 2T, default RAM and mobo concurs. Good call, but all is fine there. Should I bump the Vcore volts a notch? I'm going to OC the chip later tonight.

Is it really that common? Instable while at default?
I'd check for enhanced settings other than the "big 4".

Have a look here and see if they've got specific timings for your motherboard/mem combo.

Intel Database - OCZ Forum

If not, I'd do a memtest from a boot cd and see what you come up with. It's always possible that you've got a bad mem chip. Now isn't the time to start bumping volts, unless your motherboard is undervolting the recommended ram voltage.

It's certainly not time to start OCing.... you need a fully stable rig @ stock speeds or you're just setting yourself up for grief during the OC process.
 
Last edited:

Babrbarossa

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 2, 2006
Messages
3,730
Location
New Brunswick
I'd eevn recommend trying 1.8 volts- the Crucial I just reviewed wouldn't boot at DDR2 800 at anything over 2.1V
 

3.0charlie

3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
Joined
May 22, 2007
Messages
9,911
Location
Bedford QC
I'll run memtest86 and see what's the problem. As for the voltage, OCZ recommends 2.1V.

I'll keep ya'll posted.
 

pscout

Fallen Folder
Joined
Mar 24, 2007
Messages
375
Location
folding in GTA
Hopefully you have some spare stuff to swap in ... with all new parts my suspects would be ram or mobo. But having no experience with 680i chip mobos, I suppose mem settings could get you but sounds a bit unlikely if the thing posts and boots ok . but maybe that is just my intel chipset experience speaking.

I too have been suprised with some ocz memory that didn't like volts ... some early 800 platinum sticks that wouldn't post over 2.1.
 

3.0charlie

3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
Joined
May 22, 2007
Messages
9,911
Location
Bedford QC
Still running Memtest86 - in Test #7, 1 error found. That's it.

It that enough to RMA?

Memtest complete. Only 1 error found. What do you guys think?
 
Last edited:

Latest posts

Twitter

Top