What's new
  • Please do not post any links until you have 3 posts as they will automatically be rejected to prevent SPAM. Many words are also blocked due to being used in SPAM Messages. Thanks!

Time for a new Router

Cptn Vortex

Well-known member
Joined
May 4, 2007
Messages
4,224
Age
34
Location
Vancouver
Well my DGL-4300 is dying on me. I suspect overheating, as I took the casing off and the little heatsink there was exceeding 80 degrees easily. Almost burnt meself.

I was thinking the DGL-4500, but I stumbled upon the Trendnet TEW-633GR, which actually looks very promising.

Anyone got any insight? I am not very networking informed. I know I want gigabit switch, and basic port forwarding options. I also need wireless for my housemates and their laptops. But the main thing I need, is stability.
 

CMetaphor

Quadfather
Joined
May 5, 2007
Messages
5,080
Location
Montreal, Canada
Ive always trusted D-link routers about all else.... Hell my main router is an ancient Di-604 with little options and 100mbit max speeds (should probably upgrade it). So id say for reliablility go for D-Link.

Now for cable modems i have no idea.... (My Videotron one died on sunday :censored:, Im hoping i get one of the nice new ones that does around 8.9mbps as opposed to my old one which topped out at 5.4mbps - Via speedtest.net)
 

lcdguy

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
2,065
Location
An undisclosed location
i personally love anything by Netgear from their Prosafe Line. Very solid performing routers. I haven't needed one in a long time so i am not sure if they have gigabit switches on them yet but i imagine they do. How ever you are going to pay a premium for it since they are business level devices.

Slightly overkill possibly.

FVS124G - NETGEAR.com

has a 4 port gigabit switch, vpn, dual wan :)
 

Cptn Vortex

Well-known member
Joined
May 4, 2007
Messages
4,224
Age
34
Location
Vancouver
Very nice, very nice. Sadly I need wireless to make the people I live with happy. So far I have managed to rig a 70mm fan up to the routers power supply (5V) and set it blowing onto the heatsink and it has been working fine. But the next time it craps out on me I'm going to get something.
 

CMetaphor

Quadfather
Joined
May 5, 2007
Messages
5,080
Location
Montreal, Canada
Well as it turned out in my situation... my cable modem AND my router were dead. So i just got the latest and greatest videotron router (Motorola something) and a new D-Link DIR-655 from futureshop... All i can say is WOW. :shok: Gigabit ethernet on all four ports and wireless N with three antennas... My speeds before (via speedtest.net) were topping out around 4.5 mbps.... and now with the new modem and router... 9.3mbps :clap::clap::clap:. Holy ****!!!! If thats not a good improvement i dont know what is, hehe.
 

ebdoradz

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 30, 2007
Messages
753
Location
Rouyn-Noranda, QC
saw a big improvement here too, m y old Dlink DI514 was dying on me and i switch to a LinkSys WRT54GL, my speed went up from 1.3mbps to 3.9mbps and my cable distributor is only offering 5mbps ....

a good router is always a plus
 

t0m

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 6, 2008
Messages
291
Location
bc
i used to work with a sonicwall which was extremely impressive in terms of speed, features and setup, but they are also verrry expensive. at home i have had great success with netgear, but i think its almost time i got a new one too. its getting hotter and hotter running as time goes by, im thinking its almost at meltdown stage. its sitting on a big aluminum heatsink right now trying to survive until i figure out what to do with it.....*t0m imagines a water cooled router/frankenstein*
 

Twitter

Top