What's new
  • Please do not post any links until you have 3 posts as they will automatically be rejected to prevent SPAM. Many words are also blocked due to being used in SPAM Messages. Thanks!

Time to retire the DFI dark?????

sswilson

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 9, 2006
Messages
17,870
Location
Moncton NB
Pretty well decided that my Dark is on the way out, but thought I'd throw out the symptoms in case anybody had resolved a similar issue.

I'm starting to think that the memory controller is on the way out on the dark. It started with being finicky about booting my Ballistix without bumping the voltage in bios first (not uncommon so I wasn't too concerned), but now it's at the point that it won't boot my supertalent in dual channel at stock settings until I boot in single channel first. Once the board picks up auto settings for the single channel, I can shut down and drop the second in without any problems.

Here's the kicker though... this behaviour happens almost every time I change a setting (i.e. bump FSB) and it's getting to be a pain dropping to single channel every time I want to reboot with new settings. I'm also starting to experience the occasional mem problem when I reboot without making changes (doesn't happen all that often as I leave my rigs running 24/7) but again... taking out one stick to let the board pick up settings, and then dropping in the second stick for dual channel seems to bring it back up.

This is happening with 4 different sticks of memory (4 Ballistix 2 supertalent).

Any ideas, or is it just time to retire the Dark?
 

yamawho

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 21, 2008
Messages
913
Location
Rosemere, Qc, Canada
A few things come to mind ...

Chmos clear

Bios flash

I once had an issue where the bios setting would change and loose my Raid array.
I changed the battery on the mobo and it hasn't happened since ...
 

sswilson

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 9, 2006
Messages
17,870
Location
Moncton NB
No warranty left on it?
I hadn't even considered it... I've pushed the board about as hard as a person can, and I did buy it over a year ago. (Really wouldn't want to have to deal with DFI tech support either.... :) )

A few things come to mind ...

Chmos clear

Bios flash

I once had an issue where the bios setting would change and loose my Raid array.
I changed the battery on the mobo and it hasn't happened since ...
Done both the clear (more times than I can count... :) ), and did a bios flash tonight.

I might try the battery, but it doesn't seem to be losing settings at all... it goes through a "what's out there" every post to set auto settings and I think that's what's gone funky.
 

Matty D

Well-known member
Joined
May 17, 2007
Messages
77
Location
Alliston, ON
Well have a very similar setup as yours (X38 dark and 2x2gb Ballistix) that are about 6 months old and I just started having a memory issue. I have a post with the details a few spots down.

I solved my problem and it could be entirely on the user not the components but I had changed nothing when this problem appeared. Strange coincidence or a poor board?:ph34r:
 

sswilson

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 9, 2006
Messages
17,870
Location
Moncton NB
Yes I do, and that's the next step, but it's two different sets of older Ballistix (double sided / different purchase times), and my set of Supertalent which has always been rock solid. If it does happen to be all three sets of memory... I'd still suspect the motherboard of being the culprit.... :) (Can you tell I'm working myself up to a purchase).

The other possibility that I haven't mentioned is if it might be the processor itself..... I've run some pretty high Vtt through this puppy.
 

sswilson

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 9, 2006
Messages
17,870
Location
Moncton NB
Well have a very similar setup as yours (X38 dark and 2x2gb Ballistix) that are about 6 months old and I just started having a memory issue. I have a post with the details a few spots down.

I solved my problem and it could be entirely on the user not the components but I had changed nothing when this problem appeared. Strange coincidence or a poor board?:ph34r:
I remember your thread, and seems like all it took was a slight bump to mem voltages?
 

encorp

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 17, 2008
Messages
3,403
Also, try some different memory brands too, we all know DFI' has had some finicky things with memory before, and because it's getting older and you've pushed the board hard it may just not work well with those sticks anymore.
 

Latest posts

Twitter

Top