What's new
  • Please do not post any links until you have 3 posts as they will automatically be rejected to prevent SPAM. Many words are also blocked due to being used in SPAM Messages. Thanks!

Vista 64bit vs. XP 32bit 4GB RAM bench comparo

Eldonko

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 5, 2007
Messages
5,414
Location
Calgary, AB
Picked up Vista 64bit yesterday for some bench comparos with 4gb RAM. My theory was benches that utilize alot of RAM may be faster with vista 64bit vs. XP 32bit. I tested 32M, 3dmark06, 3dmark01 and here is what I found:

32M: Vista is faster by about 20-30 seconds
3dmark06: Result very close, 20-30 point delta
3dmark01: XP 32bit score is much higher. However I'm not sure what is wrong here because the difference is huge, 20k points.. Maybe something is off w/ ntune?? :eek:

I am going to dig deeper here, will update when I can.
 

Eldonko

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 5, 2007
Messages
5,414
Location
Calgary, AB
I will, I have a wack of SS I can post as well, just didnt get em uploaded yet.

Overall, I dont really mind Vista, although all the "Cancel or Allow" crap is as bad as that Mac commercial lol. You are about to run "CPU-Z" Cancel or Allow 300 times a day.. :rtfm: There has to be a way to make it remember that I want to run certain programs without that stupid prompt?
 

Eldonko

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 5, 2007
Messages
5,414
Location
Calgary, AB
There has to be a way to add certain programs to a do not ask list but Im not sure how yet. Didnt see a checkbox saying do not ask this again or anything. Another annoying thing is everytime that cancel or allow thing pops up the whole screen flashes black and again when you click allow. :doh:

There is something I like alot though. When you bring up task manager there is a resource manager button. It shows RAM, CPU, HD, and network use in a log-able graph, great for stability testing 4gb of RAM.
 

sswilson

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 9, 2006
Messages
17,864
Location
Moncton NB
I suspect they will include an option like that in SP1, it's probably the biggest complaint (aside from drivers and that isn't their problem) that they're hearing.

AFAIK there is no way to fine tune it, it's either on or off, and turning it off is a major defeat of the improved security features of VISTA.
 

Eldonko

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 5, 2007
Messages
5,414
Location
Calgary, AB
Drivers? Heh The only driver I even installed is 3d driver. Its not like XP, everything already works properly without installing all those MB driver/utils.
 

CMetaphor

Quadfather
Joined
May 5, 2007
Messages
5,080
Location
Montreal, Canada
I should be checking stability with 4g of ram in Vista 64 later on tonight (my mobo arrived finally!) so ill compare my results with yours eldonko. I got 3dmork06 advanced ed with my 8800's so hopefully by late tonight or sometime tomorrow ill have some scores to compare with you. :biggrin:
 

Eldonko

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 5, 2007
Messages
5,414
Location
Calgary, AB
Cool man. Do you have an XP partition to use for comparisons? What 4gb kit ya get?

Reply to this post? Cancel or Allow. Allow
 

CMetaphor

Quadfather
Joined
May 5, 2007
Messages
5,080
Location
Montreal, Canada
Im not sure how much time ill have for full blown windows installs on my new system... since i normally like taking my sweet ass time doing my wiring/cable management/building i might not even get the chance to install any OS tonight. But if i do get the chance to install both a windows xp partition and another vista one, ill definitely compare both for you and give you the results.

Going back to work at work? Cancel or Allow? Allow.... sigh
(SL0W day at work, hehe)

PS:
My 4g kit is actually two 2g kits from OCZ (platinum rev. 2 pc-6400 with 4-4-4-15 timings stock). I know its not as good as just having one 4 gig kit.... but it cost about half as much and my comp was already a bit over my spending lmiit, lol.
 

Twitter

Top