What's new
  • Please do not post any links until you have 3 posts as they will automatically be rejected to prevent SPAM. Many words are also blocked due to being used in SPAM Messages. Thanks!

Work in progress Warmachine 5.0

Skippman

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 25, 2011
Messages
491
Location
St. Louis, MO USA
Well, October 20th has come and gone and EKWB is still out of their O11 distribution plates. I'm now being told my order has been pushed back to November 12th. By that point I might as well consider swapping out the CPU and RAM for a Ryzen 5 and some DDR4-4000.
 

Skippman

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 25, 2011
Messages
491
Location
St. Louis, MO USA
Just got my e-mail from EK! Looks like my distro block is finally shipping! It's been a wait, but I think getting the newer pump version is going to be worth it.
 

Lysrin

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
4,683
Location
Nova Scotia
Just got my e-mail from EK! Looks like my distro block is finally shipping! It's been a wait, but I think getting the newer pump version is going to be worth it.
Oooo exciting! *rubs hands together anticipating watching another build come together* :)
 

Skippman

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 25, 2011
Messages
491
Location
St. Louis, MO USA
After watching Jayz latest build in that InWin case I was considering adding a LCD display to my build as well but I can't think of any place I could put it that it wouldn't look distracting. I don't think there's enough room above or below the distro block to mount it on the back wall and putting it on either glass window seems like it would break the aesthetic as well. Any ideas?
 

sswilson

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 9, 2006
Messages
21,368
Location
Moncton NB
After watching Jayz latest build in that InWin case I was considering adding a LCD display to my build as well but I can't think of any place I could put it that it wouldn't look distracting. I don't think there's enough room above or below the distro block to mount it on the back wall and putting it on either glass window seems like it would break the aesthetic as well. Any ideas?

Hard to know without seeing the rest of the build in place. The only spot that immediately jumps out to me from viewing other WC builds in that case (Lian Li 011 Dyanmic XL right?) would be to see if there was enough room to shoehorn it between the edge of the bottom rad and the front glass panel. Other than that, I'd personally be looking for a way I could suspend it from one of the installed fan banks via a 3D printed part.
 

Skippman

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 25, 2011
Messages
491
Location
St. Louis, MO USA
I finally got my distro block from EK in the mail this week and have started the new build. I put together the bottom radiator assembly this morning. Need to clean up the wiring a little bit still (prob going to spiral sleeve it) but I'm pretty happy with the look so far. I will say, test running the 6 fans... that's a LOT of air moving. I have 3 ML 120's on the bottom and 3 LL 120's on the top.

1605386800099.png

1605386833192.png

1605386863277.png
 

Skippman

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 25, 2011
Messages
491
Location
St. Louis, MO USA
I've been out of town for a little while and just got back. I've been working on the project the last couple of days and finally hit a couple roadblocks yesterday.

I apparently miscounted the number of compression fittings I need thinking originally 10 was enough. Turns out I need 12. Unfortunately Microcenter doesn't seem to be restocking their EK fittings and so I've had to order the missing fittings online. With Christmas and COVID I likely won't see my parts until the end of this week.

The second problem I ran into is that apparently the 011D distro block is designed in such a way that it REQUIRES a GPU block be plumbed in. My current 1080 doesn't have a waterblock, but I do intend to water cool my eventual 3080. So I had to rig a bypass using two 90 deg swivels, a rotary fitting, and a 4mm extension. Its... snug. I'm pretty confident it won't leak but won't know anything for certain until I pressure/leak test after I get those 2 compression fittings I need.

I had to change my wiring blueprint slightly as I had to add one more lighting hub due to the way Corsair wires things. Honestly, I'd say 50% of the work on the system has just been dealing with all the wiring for the Commander system. I've made heavy use of spiral wrap to try and keep it all clean. Thankfully the visible side of the box is looking super clean.

20201204_173235.jpg20201205_181655.jpg
 

Skippman

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 25, 2011
Messages
491
Location
St. Louis, MO USA
I've spent the last couple days after work cleaning up more of the wiring and finishing up the plumbing. You would think for over $220USD that EK could have sleeved their cables. I ended up sleeving them myself and replacing the white fan header with a black one I had in my parts bin.

This was my first time working with acrylic. It was... educational. I watched several videos on how to cut the stuff and almost everyone recommended using a pipe cutting wheel. Well, that doesn't work. Like AT ALL. Every time I attempted it, no matter how slow and meticulous I was, the acrylic always cracked. I get why people largely prefer PETG. After the 6th crack I gave that up and tried a coping saw. That kinda worked but the blade was so flimsy it kept binding. I eventually made a gig to hold the pipe and cut it with a standard hacksaw with a very fine tooth blade. As long as I let the saws weight carry it down everything went smoothly. A little 120 grit sanding and the cuts were smoother to the touch than anything I'd done with PETG.

1607522489481.png
1607522542677.png

These are the last two pics I took before I finished plumbing everything together. I got the whole thing assembled, was ready to start filling the distro plate, then realized I don't have enough coolant. lol I have some on order from Amazon (EK Cryofuel in Blood Red) that should be here tomorrow. I have a stand alone molex power adapter that came with an old IDE/SATA drive kit I'm going to use to test run the loop for 24 hours after that before I finish connecting the power cables to the PSU. This has a mechanical on/off switch with makes filling the loop much easier and I don't have to worry about shorting anything out if there's a leak.
 

Latest posts

Twitter

Top