What's new
  • Please do not post any links until you have 3 posts as they will automatically be rejected to prevent SPAM. Many words are also blocked due to being used in SPAM Messages. Thanks!

Weird display problem

You_Know_My_Name

New member
Joined
Mar 27, 2015
Messages
4
The system Im using is an amd fx6300 processer, an asrock 970 extreme3 R2.0 MOBO, two sticks of 4GB Samsung ram, a visiontek r9 280x gpu and a rosewill arc 750 psu. Since I powered on the system initially I had these weird bands of horizontal white lines, it's not the display, I have plugged a laptop into the monitor using the same hdmi cable and there were no lines to be seen, I'm not sure what the problem is. I don't have the luxury or just switching components to find the problem though cause I have no spare parts nor the cash to buy them. Please help!
 

IRQ Conflict

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 27, 2009
Messages
1,804
Location
Drayton Valley, AB
What are your GPU temps? I suspect overheating/bad ram? iirc bad ram will give you a snow effect. It has been a while since I have had GPU issues so someone else may be able to spot the problem. Have you been messing around with drivers? Any remnants of old nVidia drivers in the registry?
 

You_Know_My_Name

New member
Joined
Mar 27, 2015
Messages
4
Its a new build so there aren't any drivers at all on it initially, I have tried to install the amd display drivers, but my screen goes black and i can hear the fans spinning up, I have left it for up to 2 hours and there is no change. I'm not sure what the gpu temps are. How would i know if i have bad ram? I can see the ram in the BIOS it says the proper speed and capacity and everything.
 

IRQ Conflict

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 27, 2009
Messages
1,804
Location
Drayton Valley, AB
Like I said, I don't think that's vram (I could be wrong) vram issues usually turn up as white dots (my experience) It may be the GPU. If you know the monitor/cable is good I'd be tempted just to RMA the card. Not much else you can do without another card to test with. Sorry I couldn't be of any more help.

Edit: Did you try to re-seat the card?
 
Last edited:

You_Know_My_Name

New member
Joined
Mar 27, 2015
Messages
4
Yes, I have tried that multiple times. Is it possible to get the card repaired, I have contacted the seller and they are offering to let me keep the card and give me a partial refund.
 

clshades

Well-known member
Joined
May 18, 2011
Messages
2,784
Location
Calgary
If Visiontek cards are anything like HIS cards I wouldn't be surprised if the cooling on the card isn't even making proper contact with the GPU die or some other heat source on the card.

Return it for a full refund if possible and get a better brand. RMA if not. Hopefully the seller wasn't dinking around with the card... I'd be asking for all my money back though.

I wouldn't be surprised if the previous owner was cryptocoining with it.
 

Latest posts

Twitter

Top