What's new
  • Please do not post any links until you have 3 posts as they will automatically be rejected to prevent SPAM. Many words are also blocked due to being used in SPAM Messages. Thanks!

What is your Internet speed?

Mr. Friendly

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 21, 2007
Messages
6,776
Location
British Columbia
Fiber is not reaching my neighborhood in Laval :(
I know your pain man! I emailed my ISP about eta for fiber on my street and they said there isn't one as there is a shortage of technicians, etc. really disappointed because the last time I asked the rep told me that every street around us but ours has it already. <_<
 

tonytdnguyen89

Active member
Joined
Jul 28, 2021
Messages
26
Idk how my neighbourhood after all these years still does not support fibre. Tired of being cable lol
 

gingerbee

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 22, 2009
Messages
8,327
Location
Orillia, Ontario
So I got the fiber hooked up at the house all is good but then I started thinking about the torrenting I have to do cause I have a load of DVD that I have to down load to have a back up or encode my self I thought I would do a combo of both ( my mother wants all her DVD on your pc )

Does bell slowing torrenting down I do use a VPN but I thought they may still have a way to slow it down ???
 

gingerbee

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 22, 2009
Messages
8,327
Location
Orillia, Ontario
well, I already have a VPN till 2025 some silly low amount for a long time, that and I don't "use" Usenet. and getting into it for these download's not really something I want to do right now.

Little sideways topic the install told me there testing 10g right now in ST Catherines and he thinks it will be rolling out in the next year or so and the bell home hub 4000 is good to go for it, this is the first I heard of any company going 10g I thought 2 or 5 might be first kinda crazy I thought
 

JD

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 16, 2007
Messages
10,615
Location
Toronto, ON
I believe the new HH4000 has a single 10G Ethernet port, so you'd need to hookup your own 10G switch to it as the onboard switch ports are all 1G. Even the old HH3000 supports 2.5G on the WAN, so I suspect they'll bump up the speeds and get rid of the 150 and 500 plans eventually.

No throttling or such with Bell, only port 25 is blocked inbound that I know of. That's to prevent people from running mail servers that send out spam. Whether or not you want to use VPN is up to you, obviously it won't be as fast, but you'll gain a bit of privacy.
 

gingerbee

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 22, 2009
Messages
8,327
Location
Orillia, Ontario
Thanks so much, those were the answer I needed to hear😁😁😁, the tech did point out that if I upgraded to the 10g I would want to add my own 10g router or switch he said since there is a single 10g jack, he said its the red one on the back didn't look yet.

Can't use it yet still in the old place about 1/4 way moved. Thanks again all
 

Latest posts

Twitter

Top