What's new
  • Please do not post any links until you have 3 posts as they will automatically be rejected to prevent SPAM. Many words are also blocked due to being used in SPAM Messages. Thanks!

wifi for blu-ray/mkv

Alpine

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 3, 2008
Messages
937
Location
Boucherville / South shore of MTL
Hello guys ,


Does anyone of you know a great wifi router (B/G/N) that i can use for streaming films mostly blu-rip and mkv files ? i have around 50$ to spend

I don't have alot of distance to cover (around 20 ft). I cannot pass a cable thru the wall or simply leave in the corner of the wall and the floor.

Thanks for your suggestions.

Alp



I just have a idea, do you think a powerline will also do the job ?
 
Last edited:

BlueByte

Well-known member
Joined
Feb 3, 2011
Messages
538
Location
Maynooth
The 500Mbps power line would be a better choice for streaming. Wireless is susceptible to so many things and a bluray will run 40-50Mbps, if there is a dip or sudden drop you will get stuttering, audio sync issues with MKV etc. Powerline has a slightly higher latency over a regular network, but thats perfectly acceptable for 99% of home uses and would not effect video play back at all. I was able to get a powerline to work in a pinch across two panels off the same transformer 150-200' away... that was pretty bad. I was impressed with it overall though for a regular use case.
 

Daedalus2002

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 30, 2012
Messages
148
Location
Toronto
I use an Linksys EA3500 myself. Streaming mostly mkvs without any issues when connected to N. Never used powerline myself.
 

Arinoth

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
May 27, 2009
Messages
9,254
Location
Halifax
I think power line should be able to do the job, especially if you're trying to go that short of a distance.

As for wireless, I know wireless N can at least stream 720p mkvs without any issues (at my parent's place), as for 1080p or bluray, I'm not quite as sure. Depends on what else is on your wireless network eating up bandwidth.
 

sswilson

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 9, 2006
Messages
17,897
Location
Moncton NB
Thanks guys for thoses suggestions and i've buy one of thoses powerline. I just wish this work well
My experience with powerline is to try different outlet combinations if your first one isn't optimal which can make a big difference.
 

BlueByte

Well-known member
Joined
Feb 3, 2011
Messages
538
Location
Maynooth
Also don't plugin to the UPS on the endpoints, it WILL kill the signal. Some "noise filtering" power bars can be an issue as well. Just plug right into the wall socket if you can or at least test there first and get brave with power bars after you know it works for you.
 

sswilson

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 9, 2006
Messages
17,897
Location
Moncton NB
The other benefit to powerline is the ability to plug a network switch into it thus extending it to multiple devices without having to deal with multiple finicky wireless connections on a different floor.
 

Latest posts

Twitter

Top