What's new
  • Please do not post any links until you have 3 posts as they will automatically be rejected to prevent SPAM. Many words are also blocked due to being used in SPAM Messages. Thanks!

Wifi requently droping on android devices using Unifi AP and Rogers modem.

biggyk

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 11, 2010
Messages
229
Location
Toronto
I have been having this issue for quite a while now. It started one day while I was using my Moto X play I figured then it was just the phone but I now have a OnePlus 3 and the same problem is happening. The thing is, none of my other wifi devices seem to be having an issue (Laptop, SmartTV, RPi2). It happens almost every min but connects back up with a second or two. But enough to kill certain downloads.

Im using my ceiling mounted Unifi AC Lite AP that is hardwired to my modem(CGN3ACSMR) using POE. I have the wifi on my Rogers modem disabled. I thought maybe this could be a unifi problem but when I disabled it and tested using an open and secure connection using my modem to test, it also had the same issue.

Its really hard for me to pinpoint the source of this issue. It just sort of happened one morning maybe after an update somewhere. I did a wifi scan of my area and seems to be quite a bit of 2.4ghz traffic so I tested different channels with no luck. Issue is happening on 5hz and im the only one in the area.

In the modem logs this seems to be happening on a daily basis. Not sure if it has anything to do with it but worth mentioning. I have done a reset on the AP but not the modem yet.

19 12/04/16 09:08:33 68010300 error DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=f0:f2:49:a3:7d:10;CMTS-MAC=00:17:10:91:a3:a0;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

20 12/04/16 23:29:56 82000200 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=f0:f2:49:a3:7d:10;CMTS-MAC=00:17:10:91:a3:a0;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

Any help would be appreciated.
 

biggyk

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 11, 2010
Messages
229
Location
Toronto
Which firmware and controller version are you using?

I'd suggesting trying UniFi 5.3.8: https://community.ubnt.com/t5/UniFi-Beta-Blog/UniFi-5-3-8-Stable-Candidate-has-been-released/ba-p/1746402 and once you install that, upgrade your AP to 3.7.28.5442.

There's been a lot of improvements for disconnect issues over on the beta forum. I'm running the above on a AP-AC-LR without any issues.

I'm on the latest stable for firmware and controller. Il check into and see. But my concern if I disabled the ap and tested with the rogers wifi and it still happens how can it be the unifi that's the issue?
 

JD

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 16, 2007
Messages
9,010
Location
Toronto, ON
I'm on the latest stable for firmware and controller. Il check into and see. But my concern if I disabled the ap and tested with the rogers wifi and it still happens how can it be the unifi that's the issue?
The Rogers' modems have a lot of WiFi issues too :whistle: There's beta firmware for the modem that you can sign up for too on the Rogers forums.

On the UniFi controller, under Settings > Wireless Networks > Edit Wireless Network, do you have "Enable Unscheduled Automatic Power Save Delivery" on or off? Maybe your phones just aren't playing nice with UAPSD.
 

biggyk

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 11, 2010
Messages
229
Location
Toronto
The Rogers' modems have a lot of WiFi issues too :whistle: There's beta firmware for the modem that you can sign up for too on the Rogers forums.

On the UniFi controller, under Settings > Wireless Networks > Edit Wireless Network, do you have "Enable Unscheduled Automatic Power Save Delivery" on or off? Maybe your phones just aren't playing nice with UAPSD.
Oh really? Il have to check out that Beta too.

Power save option is off.
 

biggyk

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 11, 2010
Messages
229
Location
Toronto
On the Rogers beta now and also updated the unifi controller and ap to the beta but no luck still same issue.:sad:
 

JD

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 16, 2007
Messages
9,010
Location
Toronto, ON
Are you using the same Google account on both phones? Maybe try forgetting the network on both and re-connecting?

I have UAPSD enabled on mine and my brother has a OP3, he hasn't mentioned any issues with the WiFi to me...
 

biggyk

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 11, 2010
Messages
229
Location
Toronto
No I gave the Moto X to my mother but i wiped it first then put her account on it. Im kinda suspecting maybe its an app doing it because I dont really notice it happening on the Moto now.

Earlier I tried loweing the TX level to low but that didnt solve the problem
 

Twitter

Top