What's new
  • Please do not post any links until you have 3 posts as they will automatically be rejected to prevent SPAM. Many words are also blocked due to being used in SPAM Messages. Thanks!

Windows 10 does not see one of my hard drives.

Arinoth

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
May 27, 2009
Messages
9,264
Location
Halifax
I recently had to nuke and pave my OS driver for my home server as some form of Windows updates over time had been making it less and less usable to the point where it was easier to start fresh then try to fix things when only some aspects of Windows will work.

The 'new' OS drive is my older Intel 180GB SSD that I know works without any issues. I installed Win10 on it two nights ago and last night I finally had time to config the system. I never looked at the drivers before I installed DriveBender to re-pool my software raid, so that may be the original culprit. After this was done I had almost all my drives back in my raid, my 3 2TB and 1 6TB, yet my 4TB seems to not be found by DriveBender and CERTAIN software in Windows.

The BIOS and Device Manager both show that the 4TB HDD exists, the model, etc, however Disk Manager and Explorer do not show the drive. I have tried booting with just the 4TB and my OS drive yet DM and Explorer never display it. I know the 4TB was working prior, with great health as DriveBender periodically does SMART checks and alerts me of any drive issues. I was wondering if anyone has ever had a good working drive not be properly recognized by Windows in some aspect, but in others show up just fine. I'm hoping for some solutions that avoids me from nuke and paving the OS drive, if I have to do it I have no issues as it did not take long last time.
 

Arinoth

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
May 27, 2009
Messages
9,264
Location
Halifax
Connections are tight, double and triple checked, even replaced the SATA cable with a new never been used cable too.


I just remembered I never tried to see if I can force a disk letter or if it can be found in diskpart, something I'll try tonight.
 
Last edited:

JD

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 16, 2007
Messages
9,101
Location
Toronto, ON
I've never used DriveBender, but does it use some unique file system or partition layout?

You might need to run some sort of HDD wiping software in DOS to "reset" the drive.
 

Arinoth

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
May 27, 2009
Messages
9,264
Location
Halifax
I've never used DriveBender, but does it use some unique file system or partition layout?

You might need to run some sort of HDD wiping software in DOS to "reset" the drive.
I don't believe it does anything unique to the file system or partition layout at all, all it does is create a software raid in Windows that allows you to share 1 large drive, yet still be able to access each individual drive locally too.

I'd like to avoid wiping the drive, maybe if another system can see it or a fresh install 'fixes' Windows' view of it.
 

Arinoth

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
May 27, 2009
Messages
9,264
Location
Halifax
Turns out Diskpart was listing the disk as Foreign, imported it and all is good.
 

Lpfan4ever

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 5, 2008
Messages
3,118
Location
Calgary
Foreign usually means a dynamic drive moved to a different system (or OS in this case).
 

Latest posts

Twitter

Top