What's new
  • Please do not post any links until you have 3 posts as they will automatically be rejected to prevent SPAM. Many words are also blocked due to being used in SPAM Messages. Thanks!

Windows 10 October 2018 Update (1809)

Vittra

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 30, 2009
Messages
1,109
Location
Ontario
@sswilson can you clarify? Most people are running the OOBE without a network cable plugged in and that was sufficient. Just keep in mind you need to skip the WIFI connect portion if applicable, otherwise you'll get stuck again.
 

sswilson

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 9, 2006
Messages
18,033
Location
Moncton NB
I'll have to do another install at some point with the network cable unplugged. I had it plugged in for an install I did today and there wasn't any option at all to do an install without a MS account. The reference to having to disable network cards was from something I read over the last couple of weeks that was related to the upcoming "update".
 

Vittra

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 30, 2009
Messages
1,109
Location
Ontario
Yeah, try it without the network cable plugged in and you should be fine. That could change for the next Win10 iteration though :)
 

Entz

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 17, 2011
Messages
424
Yeah I wouldn't put it past them to require an internet connection to install now just to get around that "bypass".

This whole burying a local (or domain) install is BS at best. Seriously at the point where I would *pay* extra for a installer without Cortana, telementry, bundled apps and none of this jumping through hoops crap.
 

JD

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 16, 2007
Messages
9,256
Location
Toronto, ON
I'll have to do another install at some point with the network cable unplugged. I had it plugged in for an install I did today and there wasn't any option at all to do an install without a MS account. The reference to having to disable network cards was from something I read over the last couple of weeks that was related to the upcoming "update".
Are you using Home? I decided to give it a whirl on a VM (v1903) and seeing the same thing, no options anymore for a local account. Even when you click more info, it says to just sign in with your MS account and you can remove it after :rolleyes:

Looks like it would be best to install as Pro, it still has the "Offline Account" button. Then once you're in, you can put in your key and switch it back to Home.
 
Last edited:

sswilson

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 9, 2006
Messages
18,033
Location
Moncton NB
Yeah, this was an install using a W7 premium key which equates to W10 Home.

I'm curious what system builders do with this issue.... do you install using your creds, and then create a new full admin local account so that you can then completely remove the first one? Are they going to use throw-away accounts?
 

JD

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 16, 2007
Messages
9,256
Location
Toronto, ON
I'm curious what system builders do with this issue
Actual OEM's have custom media that wouldn't do this, typically they build their own images anyhow and wouldn't apply it using the normal Windows Setup - likely cloned disks or some other toolset.

This will mostly solve it, just save it as "Autounattend.xml" in the root of your USB beside the setup.exe. Swap out the ProductKey if you need to install Pro instead and feel free to change the username to whatever you want. I put comments in the XML (orange on the dark theme) of where to make the changes.

It's setup for English (Canada) with US keyboard and the "ProtectYourPC" set to 3 is equal to not approving the "express" privacy settings so most things should be off.

XML:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<unattend xmlns="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:unattend">
    <settings pass="oobeSystem">
        <component name="Microsoft-Windows-Shell-Setup" processorArchitecture="amd64" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
            <OOBE>
                <HideEULAPage>true</HideEULAPage>
                <HideLocalAccountScreen>true</HideLocalAccountScreen>
                <HideOEMRegistrationScreen>true</HideOEMRegistrationScreen>
                <HideOnlineAccountScreens>true</HideOnlineAccountScreens>
                <HideWirelessSetupInOOBE>true</HideWirelessSetupInOOBE>
                <ProtectYourPC>3</ProtectYourPC>
                <UnattendEnableRetailDemo>false</UnattendEnableRetailDemo>
                <SkipMachineOOBE>true</SkipMachineOOBE>
                <SkipUserOOBE>true</SkipUserOOBE>
            </OOBE>
            <UserAccounts>
                <LocalAccounts>
                    <LocalAccount wcm:action="add">
                        <!-- Change username if you wish! -->
                        <DisplayName>SuperUser</DisplayName>
                        <Name>SuperUser</Name>
                        <Group>Administrators</Group>
                    </LocalAccount>
                </LocalAccounts>
            </UserAccounts>
        </component>
        <component name="Microsoft-Windows-International-Core" processorArchitecture="amd64" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
            <InputLocale>1009:00000409</InputLocale>
            <SystemLocale>en-CA</SystemLocale>
            <UILanguage>en-CA</UILanguage>
            <UserLocale>en-CA</UserLocale>
        </component>
    </settings>
    <settings pass="windowsPE">
        <component name="Microsoft-Windows-International-Core-WinPE" processorArchitecture="amd64" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
            <SetupUILanguage>
                <UILanguage>en-US</UILanguage>
            </SetupUILanguage>
            <InputLocale>1009:00000409</InputLocale>
            <SystemLocale>en-CA</SystemLocale>
            <UILanguage>en-US</UILanguage>
            <UserLocale>en-CA</UserLocale>
        </component>
        <component name="Microsoft-Windows-Setup" processorArchitecture="amd64" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
            <UserData>
                <ProductKey>
                    <!--
                    Home:     YTMG3-N6DKC-DKB77-7M9GH-8HVX7
                    Pro:     VK7JG-NPHTM-C97JM-9MPGT-3V66T
                    -->
                    <Key>YTMG3-N6DKC-DKB77-7M9GH-8HVX7</Key>
                    <WillShowUI>OnError</WillShowUI>
                </ProductKey>
                <AcceptEula>true</AcceptEula>
            </UserData>
        </component>
    </settings>
</unattend>
That'll result in a few screens, one to confirm the Windows 10 image selection, the usual disk partition screen, and lastly the logon screen where you'll be asked to set a password. Leave the first "password" field blank as there is none set, but enter your new password in the 2 fields below. You could also put your password into the XML, but that obviously is a bit of a security risk.

Voila! Semi-automated Windows install with a local account :)
 
Last edited:

sswilson

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 9, 2006
Messages
18,033
Location
Moncton NB
Actual OEM's have custom media that wouldn't do this, typically they build their own images anyhow and wouldn't apply it using the normal Windows Setup - likely cloned disks or some other toolset.

This will mostly solve it, just save it as "Autounattend.xml" in the root of your USB beside the setup.exe. Swap out the ProductKey if you need to install Pro instead and feel free to change the username to whatever you want. I put comments in the XML (orange on the dark theme) of where to make the changes.

It's setup for English (Canada) with US keyboard and the "ProtectYourPC" set to 3 is equal to not approving the "express" privacy settings so most things should be off.

XML:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<unattend xmlns="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:unattend">
    <settings pass="oobeSystem">
        <component name="Microsoft-Windows-Shell-Setup" processorArchitecture="amd64" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
            <OOBE>
                <HideEULAPage>true</HideEULAPage>
                <HideLocalAccountScreen>true</HideLocalAccountScreen>
                <HideOEMRegistrationScreen>true</HideOEMRegistrationScreen>
                <HideOnlineAccountScreens>true</HideOnlineAccountScreens>
                <HideWirelessSetupInOOBE>true</HideWirelessSetupInOOBE>
                <ProtectYourPC>3</ProtectYourPC>
                <UnattendEnableRetailDemo>false</UnattendEnableRetailDemo>
                <SkipMachineOOBE>true</SkipMachineOOBE>
                <SkipUserOOBE>true</SkipUserOOBE>
            </OOBE>
            <UserAccounts>
                <LocalAccounts>
                    <LocalAccount wcm:action="add">
                        <!-- Change username if you wish! -->
                        <DisplayName>SuperUser</DisplayName>
                        <Name>SuperUser</Name>
                        <Group>Administrators</Group>
                    </LocalAccount>
                </LocalAccounts>
            </UserAccounts>
        </component>
        <component name="Microsoft-Windows-International-Core" processorArchitecture="amd64" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
            <InputLocale>1009:00000409</InputLocale>
            <SystemLocale>en-CA</SystemLocale>
            <UILanguage>en-CA</UILanguage>
            <UserLocale>en-CA</UserLocale>
        </component>
    </settings>
    <settings pass="windowsPE">
        <component name="Microsoft-Windows-International-Core-WinPE" processorArchitecture="amd64" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
            <SetupUILanguage>
                <UILanguage>en-US</UILanguage>
            </SetupUILanguage>
            <InputLocale>1009:00000409</InputLocale>
            <SystemLocale>en-CA</SystemLocale>
            <UILanguage>en-US</UILanguage>
            <UserLocale>en-CA</UserLocale>
        </component>
        <component name="Microsoft-Windows-Setup" processorArchitecture="amd64" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
            <UserData>
                <ProductKey>
                    <!--
                    Home:     YTMG3-N6DKC-DKB77-7M9GH-8HVX7
                    Pro:     VK7JG-NPHTM-C97JM-9MPGT-3V66T
                    -->
                    <Key>YTMG3-N6DKC-DKB77-7M9GH-8HVX7</Key>
                    <WillShowUI>OnError</WillShowUI>
                </ProductKey>
                <AcceptEula>true</AcceptEula>
            </UserData>
        </component>
    </settings>
</unattend>
That'll result in a few screens, one to confirm the Windows 10 image selection, the usual disk partition screen, and lastly the logon screen where you'll be asked to set a password. Leave the first "password" field blank as there is none set, but enter your new password in the 2 fields below. You could also put your password into the XML, but that obviously is a bit of a security risk.

Voila! Semi-automated Windows install with a local account :)

Thanks for that... saved and copied to my onedrive for the next install I do (I almost want to try a fresh one just to test it out... I've got a couple of spare mech drives here so maybe I will... :) ).

If I'm understanding your directions correctly this doesn't require any actions from the user so long as it's placed in the root of an install USB created with the install media creation tool? The normal autoboot install function will just see it there and carry out these directions based on the name of the file?

Hrmmm..... can the product key just be left blank? I haven't bothered with a product key in ages... I just let windows activate it from the digital entitlement.
 
Last edited:

JD

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 16, 2007
Messages
9,256
Location
Toronto, ON
Nothing special to do, as long as it's in the root of the USB. Even if you were installing from a DVD, you could have that Autounattend.xml on the root of a USB plugged in and it would read it.

That product key is equivalent to not entering one as it's the generic key that get's used when you say "I don't have a product key". I tried doing it without but then it doesn't seem to accept the Autounattend file at all.
 

sswilson

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 9, 2006
Messages
18,033
Location
Moncton NB
Nothing special to do, as long as it's in the root of the USB. Even if you were installing from a DVD, you could have that Autounattend.xml on the root of a USB plugged in and it would read it.

That product key is equivalent to not entering one as it's the generic key that get's used when you say "I don't have a product key". I tried doing it without but then it doesn't seem to accept the Autounattend file at all.
Cool, that's perfect then. Of course... now I'm curios to know if replacing that with a valid W7 key would result in an authenticated W10 install.... ;)
 

Latest posts

Twitter

Top