What's new
  • Please do not post any links until you have 3 posts as they will automatically be rejected to prevent SPAM. Many words are also blocked due to being used in SPAM Messages. Thanks!

Windows 7 Questions.

Dr_BenD_over

Fallen Folder
Joined
Jul 29, 2008
Messages
2,398
Location
Nova Scotia
Presently I'm running XP Pro and Vista Premium x64 via dual boot. Each OS is located on it's own partition on a 500GB drive, I also have a 1TB storage drive with no OS. I've downloaded the Windows 7 beta and I want to give it a whirl. Can I tri boot? Or am I really asking for trouble? If I do put this on my storage drive, will it have to be formatted? I'm pretty sure it's setup to be a basic drive with NTFS. Backing up the 437GB of data on it to my Atom is a rather slow process as it only has 10/100 LAN.
 

Chilly

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 9, 2007
Messages
2,638
Location
Ontario
Website
mirthful.ca
To answer your questions, if you already have vista installed then there is no way installing Windows 7 will break your boot loader, so there is no danger of tri booting in that sense. A Tri-Boot should work flawlessly.

As for installing it onto your storage drive, go ahead! You don't need to format or do anything special for that matter, as long as there is not an OS installed on the storage drive, and its NTFS, you should be good to go!
 

JD

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 16, 2007
Messages
8,915
Location
Toronto, ON
Should be fine, Windows 7 uses the same bootloader as Vista so you'll just have yet another option.

Personally I'd partition your storage drive, or maybe the drive XP or Vista is on, rather than trying to install it onto a NTFS partition with all your data on it already. Sounds like your asking for trouble in doing that.
 

Chilly

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 9, 2007
Messages
2,638
Location
Ontario
Website
mirthful.ca
Should be fine, Windows 7 uses the same bootloader as Vista so you'll just have yet another option.
Yep!

Personally I'd partition your storage drive, or maybe the drive XP or Vista is on, rather than trying to install it onto a NTFS partition with all your data on it already. Sounds like your asking for trouble in doing that.
Resizing an *exisiting* parition with data already on it is WAY more risky than simply installing an OS onto said drive/partition. The OS install won't touch the data in any way shape or form, his data is safe. :thumb:

Just be careful not to select the "format" or "delete parition" option. :haha:
 

Dr_BenD_over

Fallen Folder
Joined
Jul 29, 2008
Messages
2,398
Location
Nova Scotia
7 up and kinda running. The cat's from MS won't install so I'm trying ATi's, and of course I had to go hunting for my drivers for the Xfi too.
 

Shadowmeph

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 3, 2007
Messages
4,073
Thats why I like Virtual boot or Virtual machine I usually test OS in VM and install what ever software I would normally use and just use the virtual OS until I am confident it will run they way I want it to . I still am not to confident with win 7 , it is allot better then Vista but it still has issues running some online games keep getting Kicked by Punk buster when I am using Win 7
 

JD

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 16, 2007
Messages
8,915
Location
Toronto, ON
Resizing an *exisiting* parition with data already on it is WAY more risky than simply installing an OS onto said drive/partition. The OS install won't touch the data in any way shape or form, his data is safe. :thumb:
Just for the record, I've used Acronis Disk Director numerous times to resize my current OS drive to allow for another OS install without any data loss.

I try to keep my hard drives rather organized so I wouldn't want Windows shoving all it's files onto a drive with my data. That would just ruin my organization :bleh:
 

Latest posts

Twitter

Top