What's new
  • Please do not post any links until you have 3 posts as they will automatically be rejected to prevent SPAM. Many words are also blocked due to being used in SPAM Messages. Thanks!

Windows 7 reboots when put in hibernate

muse108dc

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 25, 2008
Messages
1,741
Location
Vancouver North
I like hibernate, it means I dont have to close anything and everything is still intact and saved when I return, so any advice on making this work would be very appreciated as well. Worked in vista so I am not quite sure why it isnt working in 7
 

mklym

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 23, 2008
Messages
238
Location
Central Alberta
Had to ask. There are ppl other than me that are running Win7 on laptops.

So it never did work in Win7, or does not work now? I have not tried hibernate, but I will put the hdd w/Win7 back in the laptop and give it a try. I'll let you know what happens, later.
 

muse108dc

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 25, 2008
Messages
1,741
Location
Vancouver North
I actually have W7 on 1 PC, 1 Laptop, and 1 Netbook, it seems its just the PC that it doesnt work on though. And no, I cant remember it ever working on this install, it did work before I did another format and reinstall.
 

mklym

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 23, 2008
Messages
238
Location
Central Alberta
Well, I put Win7 back in one of the XPS and have no problem with hibernate, whether docked or undocked, plugged in or not.

So, out of a laptop, a netbook and a tower, the tower is the only one that will not hibernate. Not being able to reproduce the problem myself, I need detail about the problem. What does it do, or not do? Did you do any changes in the BIOS before, or after the format and re-install?
 

johancn

New member
Joined
Jun 9, 2009
Messages
1
This worked for me!

I dont now exactly what the problem was but this is what i did. I went crazy and turnd of "Allow this device to wake the computer" under "Power management" on every device that had it.

By the way i'm using Windows 7, but i hop it will help you in vista.
 

Attachments

JD

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 16, 2007
Messages
8,923
Location
Toronto, ON
I dont now exactly what the problem was but this is what i did. I went crazy and turnd of "Allow this device to wake the computer" under "Power management" on every device that had it.

By the way i'm using Windows 7, but i hop it will help you in vista.
That typically fixes sleep/hibernation. I find that it's mainly the mouse though.
 

Latest posts

Twitter

Top