What's new
  • Please do not post any links until you have 3 posts as they will automatically be rejected to prevent SPAM. Many words are also blocked due to being used in SPAM Messages. Thanks!

Wireless Adapter freezing computer on new motherboard

wonton1017

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 3, 2007
Messages
163
Location
Vancouver BC
After my motherboard died on me, i upgraded my motherboard to the Gigabyte EP45-UD3R yesterday. I did a full re-install of windows because for some odd reason, the computer would run extremely slow whenever i put in a cd into the cd drive when using the old o/s and it would not install the driver for my wireless adapter

But the problem now is that when ever i put in this PCI wireless adapter G520 by DLINK, the computer can't boot up or insall windows, it hangs the computer! i have a couple of these G520 adapters at home, and i've tried 2 of them and they both do the same thing!

I've moved the adapters all over the PCI slots and they all do the same thing as well.

The computer is pretty much useless without internet, could it be the problem with the motherboard's compatibility with the wireless adapter or are my pci slots screwed up and i need to bring it back to NCIX?

When i had my old motherboard, i had no problems with this adapter.
When i take out the wireless adapter, the computer boots up with no hangs or anything. But what can i do without internet?

I've tried:
Windows XP sp2 x32
Windows XP SP3 x32
Windows Vista SP1 x32
Windows 7 7600 x32

Full specs (No overclocks):

Intel Q6600
Gigabyte EP45-UD3R
eVGA GTX260 Core216
2x2gb OCZ PC2-8500 RAM (OCZ2P10664GK)
7200.11 500GB HDD
PC P&C 750w Silencer PSU
Antec 900 case
 

Arinoth

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
May 27, 2009
Messages
9,254
Location
Halifax
I had this problem a couple years ago and it turned out to be a combo of both the wireless card and the fact XP did not like wireless draft n 3 years ago
 

wonton1017

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 3, 2007
Messages
163
Location
Vancouver BC
I had this problem a couple years ago and it turned out to be a combo of both the wireless card and the fact XP did not like wireless draft n 3 years ago
Can't be the problem of XP, it has to do something with this motherboard and the card for sure. I've used windows 7, xp sp2, xp sp3, vista sp1 and they all do the same thing but none of this happened with my old motherboard.
 

wonton1017

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 3, 2007
Messages
163
Location
Vancouver BC
Did you try a Cmos reset? How about the selection to reassign resources in Bios?
I'm going to look at that reassign resources thing right now, if it doesn't work, i'll reset cmos. How do i reset cmos on this one, my old motherboard had a button. I don't have that reassign resources option in my bios, so i'm gonna try one more adapter (different revision to the other ones) and then reset my bios.
 
Last edited:

sswilson

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 9, 2006
Messages
17,899
Location
Moncton NB
The giga boards generally have a jumper for that (Pins 1+2 normal Pins 2+3 for Cmos reset, and don't forget to put them back....). Should be indicated on the first couple of motherboard images in the front of your manual.
 

wonton1017

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 3, 2007
Messages
163
Location
Vancouver BC
Okay weird, the newer revision wireless adapter got into windows fine but its using the older revision's driver so i can't see any networks available.
Going to try looking for new drivers.
 

sswilson

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 9, 2006
Messages
17,899
Location
Moncton NB
Okay weird, the newer revision wireless adapter got into windows fine but its using the older revision's driver so i can't see any networks available.
Going to try looking for new drivers.
So what worked? Did you have to do a cmos reset or did reassigning the resources work?
 

wonton1017

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 3, 2007
Messages
163
Location
Vancouver BC
I just rememberd when i was using the o/s from my old motherboard, i put in the dlink CD and then the computer went all slow and stuff. I took the CD out, everything was back to normal but i still couldnt get to internet. Right now, i put in the newer revision adapter and then i realized it was using the older adapter's driver, so i tried to install the new drivers from the newer CD and then the same slow down happened and then computer froze agian.

Right now, im resetting CMOS using the older adapter.
 

Latest posts

Twitter

Top