What's new
  • Please do not post any links until you have 3 posts as they will automatically be rejected to prevent SPAM. Many words are also blocked due to being used in SPAM Messages. Thanks!

X-99 Deluxe/U3.1 + 2way sli GTX 970 Strix + ThunderboltEX II Not Working

alfredomova

Member
Joined
Jul 15, 2015
Messages
6
Hi! so, this is my build:

Asus X-99 Deluxe/u3.1 - https://www.asus.com...s/X99DELUXEU31/
i7 5930k - 40 lane
Kingston HyperX Predator DDR4 2800MHz (4gbx8))
GTX 970 Strix (x2)
Kingston 240GB HyperX Predator M.2
Corsair H100i
Corsair AX860
ASUS ThunderboltEX II
Easy-fit 10Gb/s USB 3.1 Type-A Card (Dual)

Currently I'm only using 1 gtx
b'cos when i put the second the system won't POST it just loops and restart, the last QCODE I can see is 79, and acording to some table is "CSM Initialization", and the VGA_LED turns on red 'till it restart,

The cards are instaled in this order:

PCIEX16_1 -- FIRST GTX 970
PCIEX4_1 -- Nothing and disabled in the bios/uefi
PCIEX16_2 -- Asus USB 3.1 card
PCIEX16_3 -- SECOND GTX 970 ******
PCIEX16_4 -- nothing
PCIEX16_5 -- ThunderboltEX

in the manual it make some reference about the PCIEX16_5 sharing "port" with the on-board M.2, but i haven't found any problem with it, actualy I'm using a thunderbolt display and Win 8.1 in the M.2, no other HDD/SSD is present in the system.

Ha! and i tested each GTX one by one and both work! so it is just some configuration I suspect,
BIOS/UEFI is updated to the last version 1801.

please any help is welcomed!
Saludos desde México!

<iframe src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/IXClf5U2-Sc" allowfullscreen="" frameborder="0" height="390" width="640"></iframe>
 

Attachments

SKYMTL

HardwareCanuck Review Editor
Staff member
Joined
Feb 26, 2007
Messages
13,410
Location
Montreal
Also, the ThunderBolt EX is supposed to be installed in the PCIEX4_1 slot. You also need to attach the link cable from your primary GPU to the DisplayPort IN port on the Thunderbolt EX card.
 

alfredomova

Member
Joined
Jul 15, 2015
Messages
6
Have you tried booting it without the USB and Thunderbolt cards installed?
Yes! my current config is:

PCIEX16_1 -- FIRST GTX 970
PCIEX4_1 -- Nothing and disabled in the bios/uefi (hidden under the gtx)
PCIEX16_2 -- ThunderboltEX
PCIEX16_3 -- SECOND GTX 970
PCIEX16_4 -- nothing (hidden under the gtx)
PCIEX16_5 -- nothing

and if I change the thunderbolt config in the bios to that specific PCIE slot the problem returns..

so, the PC boots... but the iSight, Usb ports etc. in the thunderbolt display are not working... so just video pass-throw... :sad:
 

alfredomova

Member
Joined
Jul 15, 2015
Messages
6
Also, the ThunderBolt EX is supposed to be installed in the PCIEX4_1 slot. You also need to attach the link cable from your primary GPU to the DisplayPort IN port on the Thunderbolt EX card.
but as the manual says the "best" configuration for the SLI cards are PCIEX16_1 and PCIEX16_, so the PCIEX4_1 ended hidden under the GTX
 

FreeKnight

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 8, 2009
Messages
2,037
Location
Edmonton, AB
When you tested each board individually did you use the same PCIe slot?

Might be worth testing each PCIe slot individually, maybe there's a short in one?
 

alfredomova

Member
Joined
Jul 15, 2015
Messages
6
When you tested each board individually did you use the same PCIe slot?

Might be worth testing each PCIe slot individually, maybe there's a short in one?
no, i tested the gtxs in the PCIEX16_1, but if that would be the case i would be prompted by the bios for some voltage overload or something like that...

I believe it's the total amount of processor lanes, or the bios thunderbolt config:
 

Attachments

SKYMTL

HardwareCanuck Review Editor
Staff member
Joined
Feb 26, 2007
Messages
13,410
Location
Montreal
With GPUs in the 1 and 3 spots there should be plenty of place for the Thunderbolt card.
 

MARSTG

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 22, 2011
Messages
4,309
Location
Montreal
Didn't Linus ran in the same problem with his workstation? They built a 2P x79 rig with an Asus board and were planning to use 2 Titan X but the rig won't boot with both Titans. Last time I heard they were waiting for a custom bios from Asus. This is documented on their channel as our insane rendering machine or something similar, they used 2 18 core Xeons.
 

SKYMTL

HardwareCanuck Review Editor
Staff member
Joined
Feb 26, 2007
Messages
13,410
Location
Montreal
The 2P rigs aren't SLI compatible......the consumer boards ARE.
 

Twitter

Top