What's new
  • Please do not post any links until you have 3 posts as they will automatically be rejected to prevent SPAM. Many words are also blocked due to being used in SPAM Messages. Thanks!

Yet another AMD 1090T build (No Pics yet)

Pelt

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 7, 2009
Messages
348
Location
Stewiacke, Nova Scotia
So I wasn't going to upgrade this year, but the money faires have been good to me the last few months and I decided it was time for a change. This started as a simple MOBO and Processor upgrade, but it kind of snow balled, lol.

Nothings been delivered yet but it should here next week. Here's what I'm getting

-Crosshair IV 890FX MOBO
-AMD AM3 1090T processor
-6GB OCZ RAM (From Aniboiz)

And that was it, until today this is when things got out of control. I was looking at my case Coolermaster 690 II which I love so it's staying (for now). And I realized that my PSU 600W Thermal Take toughpower was going to look out of place next to the sweetness of the black and red motherboard. So I called up my friend at Greenlyph computers in Halifax and asked him to order me a Enermax Revolution 1050W PSU got a good deal on it too 300.00 bucks even after taxes. So the fella at Greenlyph says " So, what the heck do you need a PSU like that for, getting a new video card?". Oh god how I wished he hadn't said that...he's right you know that is to much PSU for this build, better make it earn it's money. Soooo....I kind of just ordered an XFX ATI 5870.

Sweet jesus I'm out of control, what's next an Intel X-25M 80GB SSD? :shok: We'll see. We'll see. :whistle: Pic's to follow next week.

Stay tuned for a EVGA GTX 260 core 216 going on sale in the BST soon.
 

Delavan

Well-known member
Joined
May 6, 2007
Messages
1,165
Location
AB
Sweet jesus I'm out of control, what's next an Intel X-25M 80GB SSD? :shok: We'll see. We'll see. :whistle: Pic's to follow next week.
What are you sayin'? Goddamm right you're in for an SSD! You'll love it too! It will really nicely compliment the new rig. Don't look elsewhere (as you're on a roll).
SSD!!!!!
 

sswilson

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 9, 2006
Messages
19,520
Location
Moncton NB
Hehehe........

Some folks might have their internet priviliges revoked by their better halfs' if they don't stop looking at (and reacting to) geek porn.... ;)
 

Navi

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 29, 2009
Messages
78
6gb ram? I don't know a lot about memory but wouldn't 6gb prevent you from running dual channel? Or is the performance difference negligible?
 

Napophis

Member
Joined
May 2, 2010
Messages
10
I also going to be building a new rig, going with the crosshair IV and 1090T, not sure what to do about RAM though... What OCZ did ya go with? and can somneone shed smore more light on this 6gig preventing you from running dual channel...

Thats going to be one sweet rig with that 5870!
 

AkG

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 24, 2007
Messages
5,274
I also going to be building a new rig, going with the crosshair IV and 1090T, not sure what to do about RAM though... What OCZ did ya go with? and can somneone shed smore more light on this 6gig preventing you from running dual channel...

Thats going to be one sweet rig with that 5870!

They dont make 3GB sticks, thus it is 2 + 2 +2 gb sticks. To get dual channel you need to have two slots filled up or all 4, three wont do it. :thumb:
 

Pelt

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 7, 2009
Messages
348
Location
Stewiacke, Nova Scotia
The OCZ I bought from Anaboiz were originally going into this system but I think there triple channel, so they will be destined for a I7 build in the near future(not for me though for my brother). When I bought the MOBO I also ordered this kit which is for the AMD AM3 platform. Well it has a nifty little AMD sticker on it so I guess that is what it means. It's 4GB and I will do well.

NCIX.com - Buy Corsair XMS3 Dominator 4GB DDR3 2X2GB DDR3-1600 CL 8-8-8-24 Bemp Dual Channel Memory Kit - CMD4GX3M2B1600C8 In Canada.
 

Napophis

Member
Joined
May 2, 2010
Messages
10
not to hijack this thread but i bought the crosshair iv and 1090T, went with G.skill ram and put it all together, only to find out the NB was overheating, so i'll be exchanging it tomorrow for another...hopefully a non faulty one :(
 

Latest posts

Twitter

Top