What's new
  • Please do not post any links until you have 3 posts as they will automatically be rejected to prevent SPAM. Many words are also blocked due to being used in SPAM Messages. Thanks!

Yet another ram question

shybri69

Active member
Joined
Jul 13, 2018
Messages
38
Considering going from 64GBs at 2400mhz to 32GBs at 3800, good move or not? (and the TridentZ RGB to Corsair V. Pro)
Thanks
 

Lysrin

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
3,150
Location
Nova Scotia
Yup, agree with enaberif. In this case too, if you actually need 64GB of RAM or are close to needing it, dropping down to 32GB for a speed boost you won't notice in any day-to-day use seems like a misstep to me.

Is there something your current RAM or system isn't doing that is causing you to think you need the change?
 

shybri69

Active member
Joined
Jul 13, 2018
Messages
38
The games I run are not perfect and short of swapping out cpus I thought this might be a little twik that could help, if even with a very minor improvement. Of course when I added the other 32 Gbs I notice zero difference between the 32GBs and 64Gbs, figured I might notice a super tiny bit if I were to increase the speed.
some say on toms hardware that anything under 3000 is garbage, but I can't speak for them.
 

Lysrin

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
3,150
Location
Nova Scotia
If the games you are running "are not perfect" I would pretty much guarantee it has nothing to do with your RAM. There are no games that require 32GB let alone 64GB. Star Citizen runs better on greater than 16GB but that game is no where near finished or optimized and not representative. I run all major titles on the system in my signature at 3440x1440 with high to ultra graphics and it does fine, with 1600 MHz RAM, only DDR3. I would say you would see zero difference by increasing your RAM speed alone.

If you are needing faster RAM because you are trying to achieve a certain overclock for the whole system, then perhaps the speed increase would be beneficial or required. Really depends on what you are trying to do. But those saying anything under 3000 is garbage... hard to comment without knowing the context, but at face value that doesn't seem good advice to me, or a good place to spend money in your PC.

What is the rest of your system? You are likely better off with other upgrades. But if you were willing to put 64GB RAM into your system I'm guessing it's decent and perhaps you upgraded everything already! ;)
 

Mr. Friendly

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 21, 2007
Messages
2,722
Location
British Columbia
more slower RAM is always better than less faster RAM.


why not overclock the RAM you have now? you should be able to get a few hundred more mhz outta it! :)




and too much RAM can impair your performance if you're not using it, as it all still needs to be talked to when the system is running, even if not in use. so try pulling two sticks out and see what happens when you're running just 32GB? :thumb:
 

shybri69

Active member
Joined
Jul 13, 2018
Messages
38
I've upgraded about everything I can, even doing the motherboard from an MSI B250M to an MSI Z270 Gaming M6.
Boosted my 1080 ti xe as far as it will let me.
Boosted my i7-7700K to 5.0


Now that the new board would take a bit faster RAM, I thought for kicks and giggles it would be nice to boost it a bit as well, BUT having said that, IF it is better to have more running slower, then less running faster, I need to re-think things. I couldn't afford 64GBs of the 3600, but I could do 32GBs easy enough. I am gonna assume there isn't much, if any difference between manufacturers, eg. TridentZ vs Corsair.
 

JD

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 16, 2007
Messages
9,012
Location
Toronto, ON
What games and what resolution are you running?

You probably should of went with a Z390 and 9th generation CPU if you wanted to see any major gains. Moving to the RTX 2080 Ti might be another thought.

It's unlikely that RAM is your issue though.
 

shybri69

Active member
Joined
Jul 13, 2018
Messages
38
Wow, which runs on anything.
NFS Payback, Forza Horizon 4, Playerunknown Bg, and upcoming
MechWarrior 5: Mercenaries,


Total War: Three Kingdoms all running at 3440x1440 ultra settings.

Can't afford the Z390 board, not to mention the i9 processor, just upgraded what I had, I would have to research and see if the RX 2080 ti would be much better then that 1080 ti xe otherwise it's a bit to spend and from the benchmarks I am seeing, not much of an improvements. Of course the ram would be just a very small twik, as long as it wouldn't run worse then with the 64Gbs of 2400.
 

486

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 7, 2008
Messages
580
Depends how are you using your 64GB RAM (how much of it you are using).
 

Latest posts

Twitter

Top