Skip to content

Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-4000 8GB Review

Share:

Overclocking Results

For our memory overclocking tests we are usually interested in two main elements: how well the memory scales with additional voltage and how versatile it is at overclocking with different timings. Though we suspect that many of the overclockers who buy this kit won’t hesitate to use 1.45V or even 1.50V, we are sticking with 1.40V to stay inline with all our previous DDR4 reviews. This allows us to compare kits on a roughly equal footing, and allows us to put all our efforts on testing timings scalability instead.

In order to make sure that there weren’t any possible CPU-related bottlenecks, the CPU VCCIO was set to 1.30V and the CPU System Agent Voltage set to 1.35V. We focused on six basic timing configurations (14-16-16 / 15-17-17 / 16-18-18 / 17-19-19 / 18-21-21 / 19-23-23) with a 2T command rate in order to maximize memory controller’s frequency headroom.

With the pleasantries out of the way, let’s get to the fun stuff.

Since these Vengeance LPX modules already have loose timings of 19-23-23 we decided not to loosen them any further, but instead used those defaults as the baseline in order to see how much additional frequency headroom this kit had. Once we knew what the upper limit was, it was just a matter of progressively tightening the timings to find the max frequencies at the other levels.

As you can see, with a slight voltage bump from 1.35V to 1.40V, our sample revealed itself to have ton of additional headroom, blowing right past the DDR4-4100 mark and nearing an incredible DDR4-4200. When you consider that DDR4 was designed with a JEDEC specified limit of DDR4-4266, the fact that we are almost there this early in this new standards lifespan is pretty crazy. As you will see in the following pages, despite the loose timings, DDR4-4160 19-23-23 generates a ton of memory bandwidth for dual-channel memory interface…over 52GB/s to be exact.

If we compare these results to those of our previous best kit – the Corsair Dominator Platinum DDR4-3400 – the difference is impressive. At 16-18-18-2T, the loosest timings that we tested with, the best that the Dominator kit could muster was DDR4-3452, but this Vengeance model blows way past that to hit DDR4-3790. When you consider that the Dominator kit was assembled using the top 0.5% of all Hynix MFR ICs that Corsair had binned, it just goes to show you how much better these newer Samsung E-die ICs are at achieving very high frequencies.



Click on image to enlarge

These screenshots are just to prove that we did indeed achieve the overclocks listed, and that they were stable enough to pass a series of mainstream benchmarking and stress testing applications. If you are doing super critical work, then maybe a little Prime95 stress testing should be done as well, but for gaming and day-to-day tasks our approach is more than sufficient.

Check out the next few pages to see our benchmarking results. We kept CPU frequencies as close to 4.5Ghz as possible and increased the Cache/Uncore frequencies to around 4.20-4.25Ghz to try an eliminate any memory bandwidth bottlenecks. It’s not perfect since there is only so much you can do with a finite number of frequencies and multipliers but what you will be seeing are the approximate performance differences caused by the different memory settings.

Posted in

Latest Review

Latest News

Sorry, we couldn't find any posts. Please try a different search.

hulu-300x250-ad
Scroll To Top